We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant morning, great lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cockburn Town

Cockburn Town
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
Type: Islands, Cultural
Attraction details
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant morning, great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We bypassed the cruise terminal and took a shared taxi $6pp with useful local commentary. The Museum was worthwhile and our stroll along the shoreline and Duke Street was really beautiful. The Secret Garden at the Salt Raker Inn was open for an early lunch. A peaceful, charming spot. Very hospitable. We enjoyed delicious fish fritters and local beer. It was quite a distance back to our ship and it was a hot day, so we took a taxi. A very nice shore excursion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Sleepy Caribbean Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Turks and Caicos have always been a backwater in the Caribbean. Not much ever happened here and Grand Turk is just an overgrown sand spit coral island. The new cruise ship terminal is a welcome tourist orientated addition to island life. This the highlight of the visitors experience with attractive modern duty free shopping and a large pool and sandy beach anchored by the Margaritaville restaurant within walking distance of the cruise ships.

Cockburn Town has some nice old buildings along Front Street, some in disrepair following hurricane damage. The museum and Old Jail are the most impressive buildings. The most scenic spot is the North Point Lighthouse and park about 6 miles from the Cruise Terminal on the opposite end of the island.

The trip to Cockburn town would have been worthwhile if there was an inexpensive tram service to a local bar on Front street but it is not worth the price of an expensive cruise ship excursion. Any of the volcanic Caribbean islands offer much more scenic and interesting tours

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not Much to See, but the Museum: Take a Funky Taxi Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

After paying about $6 per person to go to Cockburn Town, we found the shopping to be pretty sparse. There are about 7 shops (the size of a small bedroom) with local tourist junk. The National Museum is a bit interesting if you want to see John Glenn, the astronaut, info and information about the oldest shipwreck. The best part of the museum is sitting on the upstairs porch and relaxing while you view the beautiful ocean.

Now for the funky taxi ride: We called the taxi driver back to pick us up. He offered us a trip around the island for $10. It took maybe 30 min. I have never had a taxi ride like this one. The driver was a local who had family ties all over the island. We heard things like: "Here's where government buildings are. . . .so much corruption that the leaders have been kicked out". "Here's where my bad cousin lived. . . he disappeared if you know what I mean." "Here's the salt ponds." "Here's the prison where my uncle and cousin works." "Those are Haitians; they practice voodoo." Here's the Canadian's homes who run the government now." "Here's the cemetery.". And my favorite after seeing the cows running free:
"Here's the dump. The cows are eating cardboard. I've had the cow's meat. . .it isn't too bad." If you want an unusal sightseeing trip. . .The taxi cab ride was unforgettable!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Jack's Shack near Grand Turk Cruise Center...not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Once you get off your Cruise ship make a hard left onto the beach and walk along it just a couple minutes to Jack's Shack for a relaxing bite to eat, great grill food, and new friends. Free wireless internet, too!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockburn Town also viewed

Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos
 
Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
 

Been to Cockburn Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockburn Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.