We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining just outside Scarborough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Havana

Cafe Havana
Bacolet Street, Scarborough, Tobago
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Superb dining just outside Scarborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were actually staying in the hotel that the restaurant is attached to and were delighted to find should good quality food and service on our doorstep. We were not "all inclusive" so had the choice to dine anywhere, but decided to eat in Cafe Havana because the choice of food was good and a choice of prices from US$14 Burger to US$30 Rib eye steak. Starters ranged from US$6 for a very acceptable Fish Chowder to US$12 for Scallops. Wine starts at US$29 so not cheap, but was good quality and I would budget for US$100 if there are two of you dining. All the food appeared promptly and was well prepared and always served at the right temperature. Service was top notch while we were there, even though they were always busy, apart from Thanksgiving Day, when the Chef decided to put on a fixed menu of Turkey, which was not well received. Culinary highlight for me was Creamy Curried Shrimp and Kingfish but the menu is varied and there is always a "special" to choose from. We also used the restaurant for breakfast and this was absolutely fine. If you are staying in the Bacholet Bay Beach Club or the nearby Blue Haven, this restaurant willl suit you just fine. Not cheap, but good food and very good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We dined at Cafe Havana only once as we stayed at a hotel south of Scarbrough. The service is good and food is nice, however it's difficult to get to if you are not staying at the Bacolet Beach Club as there are no signs on the rood and we found it quite by chance even with a map. Other than that, it's a good place to go to, will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff offering good value food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Dinner is good value with a fair choice and wide drinks list. The staff work hard and service is quick. Breakfast was not great as often many options had run out with over an hour left of service. The restaurant is well kept and clean.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lunch is reasonably priced and delicious. Dinner, it's fresh and vibrant. However, I've noticed a difference in quality and service depending on the night and staff on board. There seems to be a consistency problem. The cocktails are fantastic once Miriam is behind the bar. I noticed when she's not there, the standard drops considerably. The same goes for the food. But for me, all the elements combined does not discourage me from being a regular.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Cafe Havana Restaurant is located in Bacolet and is attached to the Bacolet Beach Club boutique hotel. The restaurant is a great stop for lunch when in Tobago. The atmosphere is nice with a view of the ocean as well as green space. You can see birds in the surrounding trees. It can be hot at times so choose to sit away from the sun and in a breezy area. The lunch menu is short and the food comes quickly and is usually pretty good. There is a discount for locals and most options are less than $100 TT currrency (some significantly less). I have been there solo, with business colleagues, with family and with friends and I am rarely disappointed. I have never been at dinner time which I have been told is significantly more expensive.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Havana also viewed

 
Scarborough, Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Cafe Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.