We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chocolate Fudge Pie Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant

La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant
Buccoo Bay, Buccoo, Scarborough, Tobago
1 868 639-0940
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Fudge Pie Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Aside from having one of the best desserts I've ever had (this was the first time I've ever had dessert twice!), this restaurant is one not to be missed when visiting Tobago.

Only open for dinner, La Tartaruga serves up homemade pasta in various delicious manners, not to mention all of their desserts are also made from scratch. The portion size is also just enough which I loved because this was one of the few times I didn't have to ask for a carry out container.

Apart from the yummy food, the chef and owner is extremely passionate about his restaurant and takes the time to chat warmly with his customers about his background and its influence on his creations. The rest of the staff (a total of 2 servers) are very attentive and eager to please.

Overall I am sure to be eating here whenever I'm in Tobago!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best meal we have ever had on holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant when we were going to Sunday school. It was by far the best meal we had in Tobago & we think possibly the best meal we have ever had whilst on holidays. The food was delicious & the service superb (service was lacking in many establishments we visited in Tobago). The Italian owner is very knowledgeable & so enthusiastic about the menu, it was a delight to be served by someone who genuinely loves their job.

Complimentary canapés were served to start which were lovely. We didn't have starters but the main course & dessert were delicious. The homemade pasta was superb. It was also really nice to have a good wine list in Tobago (we found other restaurants lacking in this respect). The restaurant has won numerous awards for their wine.

It was not really any more expensive than other restaurants on the island & much better quality. If you only go to one restaurant in Tobago make sure it's La Tartaruga!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good, family run place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A good Italian menu, with lots of fish/seafood options. Note small portion sizes generally. Family owned and run, by a couple and their daughter. The lovely daughter was rushed off her feet throughout the evening, though was highly efficient in getting around to everyone. The food was excellent in all respects - we had ravioli and shrimp on a curried pea puree, then chocolate tart and gelato - all homemade. They have a pretty terrace (garden view only - no sea view), and the interior is opened completely onto the terrace. Mainly tables of 2-4 diners, not larger groups. The owner is quite a character, an Italian man who is married to a Trini (he provides all the entertainment you'll need - vignettes about his travels in our case, served up with a very Italian accent). Wine - we understand they have the island's most comprehensive wine cellar, though we weren't drinking so can't comment. Other restaurants on the island told us that they supply them with wine. All in all an enjoyable evening. Value - expect UK/US pricing and you'll be fine. We were happy with 2 courses with soft drinks and some nibbles to start coming in at the 400 TT$ mark.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A superb dining experience – our favorite place to dine on the island! While we love Italian food, when we are vacationing in the Caribbean we usually like to eat more of the local food and purposely stay away from the types of food we can get back in the states. However, we love our wine and could not pass up the chance to dine at a place that had such a great wine list (one of Wine Spectator Award of Excellence).
Boy – are we glad the wine got us here, because the food would definitely keep us coming back.
The wine list was indeed impressive – a great selection of wine at all price points. If you have a big budget or need to celebrate a very special occasion, there are some fabulous wines available – in the $4,000tt to $5,000tt range!!
The wine service is impeccable – even if you purchase a less expensive bottle of wine. The temperature of the wine was perfect (yes a red wine should be slightly chilled). It was decanted at our table – only the finest restaurants in the US decant all of their wines.

The food matches the wine in every way except the prices for the food is something any budget can afford.
To start the meal, a small tray of bread and olives were served. The olives were pit less and were the most tasty olives I have ever had.
As appetizers, my wife had the green salad ($45tt) and said it was very good while I had the pumpkin/shrimp soup ($85tt) – what a great combination – it was delicious and had plenty of shrimp.
We both had pasta entrees (Shrimp Alfredo - $135tt and fish/shrimp with capers in a white wine sauce - $145tt) and they were out of this world. The pasta is freshly made by hand and the taste of the entrée showed that – I have never had pasta as delicate, tender and fresh as this was – it truly was melt in your mouth.
For dessert we had to try the tiramisu ($50tt) which of course was excellent as well.

The overall service was excellent – the owner, Gabrielle, stopped to chat twice with us. What a gracious person and host. He was born in Milan and of course has that wonderful Italian accent and enthusiasm. His daughter served some of our dishes, but unfortunately we did not get to meet his wife – who was back in the kitchen making that heavenly pasta.
This one of the best Italian meals and dining experiences I have ever had – and this includes Italian meals I have had in New York and Boston.

This was our favorite restaurant on the island and one of the best Italian restaurants we have ever eaten at – anywhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is not an Olive Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have to say, we were hesitant to try an Italian restaurant in Tobago -- the last thing we wanted was food we could easily get in NYC. But the fish carpaccio, grilled shrimp in pumpkin soup, and fresh pasta won us over. The owner is a super enthusiastic guy who loves to engage. Overall, a great dinner with the fresh seafood from Buccoo in mind.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Scarborough, Tobago
Crown Point, Tobago
 

Been to La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tartaruga Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.