We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better in reality than the website photos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hibiscus Heights
Save
You added Hibiscus Heights to your Saves list
Alefounder Drive, Pleasant Prospect | Grafton, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Buckinghamshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even better in reality than the website photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

It was a joy to see that the wonderful photo's of the accommodation (we stayed in the Artists Studio) shown on the owners website, were actually better in reality. The accommodation was extremely clean and had all of the 'creature comforts' one could need to make their stay feel like home from home. Hibiscus Heights is in a great location with the nearest beach, eateries, ATM, store all within walking distance. It also has the added advantage of being near to a main trunk road leading into the capital, Scarborough. The owner, Paul, took the time to converse with us on several occasions, even though the rest of the accommodation units/apartments were fully booked. The downside - can truthfully say there weren't any. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

In the course of your travels you will meet exceptional people with exceptional accommodations and Hibiscus Heights Warm Breezes was 5 star all the way. Gillian and Paul were exceptional and did everything to make our trip great.

The view off the surround veranda was extraordinary. We loved everything about Hibiscus Heights. In fact, Gillian was such a great hostess that we took her up on staying in one of the condos she managed for the reminder of our trip. It was fantastic and the sunsets were out of this world. Like all the accommodations, everything was clean and Gillian was always professional but always friendly too.

Gillian will you adopt me so I can say there forever LOL. U the best and thanks so much for all the personal touches and sorry I took so long to write this review.

We coming back and we staying with u again and hopefully very soon!

Best Regards
Dale, Bon, and Autumn

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed at Hibiscus Heights based on the reviews of other Trip Advisor members. It definitely deserves the high rating. I chose the 'Corner View' room and the rooms were clean with a a large, well equipped kitchen. I absolutely appreciated the long island in the kitchen area. The ocean view was very relaxing & the general area was quite.
The only things I would have preferred differently were:

1. if you leave the removable shower-head in the cradle, the shower does not drain properly as you bathe . We had to remove the shower-head & shower at the edge of the tub where the drainage was much better. I think the sloping of the shower tub is incorrect.

2. There was no parking in front of the room for guests of the Corner View. The inconvenience was not much though as the owners, Paul & Gillian, accomodated us by allowing us to park in their garage area. The only downside to this was that when it rained, the driveway to the garage was quite steep & slippery so we opted to park on the road until the area dried in order to prevent the car skidding.

I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed for two weeks in the Hibiscus Height (Corner View apartment) and enjoyed Gill and Paul’s hospitality. The location of the Hibiscus Height is convenient, with bars and restaurants in walking distance and it is only a short walk to a beautiful beach. The Corner View apartment is well equipped and offers a great view. However, there are a few trade-offs; the bar down the road is rather noisy and the music (sometimes very laud) goes on until 3am! If you stay for an extended period and not just a few days, you need a car to get somewhere (we recommend Sheppy’s). Finally, depending on who occupies the top floor can also add to the noise level. So if you look for a secluded getaway, Hibiscus Height might not be the best option but apart from the noise, it is a really nice place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

My husband and I booked a stay at Warm Breezes at Hibiscus Heights last summer for a stay 13-22 February 2010.
I began corresponding with Gill last summer. I just felt that this was the right place for us. I described our likes, dislikes, and travel habits and Gill was there every step of the way to advise us.
We were to fly Delta Airlines out of Buffalo Saturday, 13 February with a connection to Atlanta and then on to Tobago. Unfortunately, due to weather problems in Atlanta (questionable), our flight was canceled. After four hours of trying to work things out, we were unable to get a flight to Trinidad until Tuesday, 16 February.
I called Gill from the airport to explain our situation. She was so sympathetic and helpful. She even called Sheppy, whom we had rented a car from, to tell him that we would not arrive and would not need the car until Tuesday. This was obviously so disappointing to us. We were looking forward to a long stay.
Upon our arrival to Tobago with a journey which started at 2 p.m. the previous day, Gill had someone from Sheppy's meet us at the airport. We arrived at Hibiscus Heights at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday. Paul met us and greeted us and took us to our home. It was more lovely than I imagined.
As I have written in previous reviews, I am the last person I thought would ever enjoy cooking on vacation. I am at a point now where I can't imagine doing it any other way. Warm Breezes was just perfect for us. You name it, it was there. We had a fully equipped kitchen with a grill outdoors, microwave, fridge/freezer, stove, oven, etc. The kitchen is roomy and I felt so at home!!
It was 'Carnival' on Tuesday, so most stores were closing early. Gill came up and gave us suggestions for getting groceries. We stopped at Penny Savers to get staples (bread, milk, eggs,butter, etc) then went to a road side fruit stand for fruits and veggies.
At 4 p.m., we went to Mt Irvine Bay for fresh fish. Expect to pay 20TT per pound. They will filet and skin it for you and ask for money for this, just politely decline to pay or tip extra unless you are so inclined.
We then proceeded to Grafton Bird Sanctuary where the birds are fed at 4p.m. and 8 a.m. daily. It was great to see such a variety of birds.
With the help of Paul the next morning, we proceeded to Argyle Falls. You do not need a guide. We had no trouble. Of course, we both hike and exercise extensively but I feel that most people in reasonable good condition could do this hike. It is 40TT per person admission. You can swim in the pool at the lower falls. Do wear sturdy shoes. it drives me crazy when I see people in flip-flops hiking a trail!
We then went to Speyside and met a gentleman named Paul who took us to Little Tobago. He would not collect the money until our return. We spent hours hiking and snorkellng here. DO see Paul in Speyside and let him take you here.
The next day, we went to the rainforest. It is a nice hike. Do wear sturdy shoes. There are cutter ants and you do NOT want them near your open toes. Again, we went without a guide and were a bit hassled. We were just polite and did our own thing, The hike is lovely.
On Friday, we did the Caribbean coast. We stopped at various points for pictures and went to Castara for a swim. It is a lovely beach. We then went to Englishman's Bay. it is a DREAM!! We have been to most of the Caribbean Islands and I am a diver and I found the snorkeling here second to none! The beach is awesome. We then proceeded to Arnos Vale. Again, great snorkeling. Nice and quiet.
On Saturday, we hung out and went to Grafton Beach. it was nearly deserted. it is a lovely beach.
We did not go to any restaurants as we cooked all of our meals each day. Paul really recommended the Fish Pot.
Our vacation was short due to the travel hitch. We will be back if Gill and Paul will let us.
In our years of traveling, I have rarely come across such lovely , helpful ,considerate people as Paul andf Gill. Their accommodations are top notch. The property is such so that you feel at home and don't need another thing. The furnishings are lovely. The location is great.
By the way, the birds here are amazing. Their advirtisement is right on! Birds will come right to the deck.
If you like a self catering, quiet, friendly, homey atmosphere, Hibiscus Heights is THE best place to stay on the island.
Thank you and God bless you Paul and Gill. We hope to see you next year. You are THE GREATEST!!!!!
Jeanne

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkuk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The owners understand the first principle of the hospitality industry. Service to the customer. They gave service with a smile in running this lovely house - split into 4 flats.
I can't add to the praises written by others so I add just a little- they are so correct-and
MY TOBAGO HIBISCUS HEIGHTS has a full independant description of what is on offer. (They, and others, even mention the noise that on very few occasions was a problem which is why they provide earplugs. In such an idyllic situation one soon forgets and forgives.)
We have just returned from our 5th. trip to Tobago, all previous ones had been in hotels, and, for our 3 weeks,self catering was excellent.
The position is ideal with the Fish Pot restaurant and a small shop and take-away 3 minutes walk away. Grafton Beach is a 5 minute walk.
One needs a car. The Mt. Irvine Hotel beach is the best on the Island with sun loungers to rent and a restaurant and bar. The Facility Beach next door is great for cheap local lunches.
El Pescador is a new well priced Venezuellan restaurant on Bucco Beach- limited lunch but lots of choice for dinner ( slow service.) Stone Haven Villas is up-market with a fantastic view and reasonable menu ( and happy hour @ 5.30pm. ) Shore Things, great ambiance, is a bit expensive but Saturday ( only ) breakfast is a must. Special for a light lunch or coffee daily.Skewers take-away by Coco Reef is new- North African good food.. Fish from the road-side costs £ 2- for 2 people. A day out on the large motorised cat
( Maria [--] ) was special which is why it's a bit more expensive than the others we have previously tried becaus they made sure the sea was safe, cooked great food and provided unlimited drink- all with a smile. Shopping @ Lowlands was very reasonable for top labels.
Virgin Atlantics, flight only, @ £ 560- ( to get this massive discount book by end October )
and their easy check-in, and on your return, for an 8 hour flight is a bonus.
Self catering worked for us although we hardly used the cooker and the BBQ only a few times. To have the owners close by was very convenient. We were in Warm Breezes for 12 nights ( it has a private splash pool ) and Sweet Nest for 9- the MY TOBAGO description is very accurate- perhaps Corner View is better than Sweet Nest.
If you need a bigger house for more people Gill can suggest other luxury properties close by. This was our best trip to Tobago. CANDANorfolkuk

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed in the corner view apt. It far exceeded our expectations and is larger/better than the pictures online. Paul picked us up from the airport and gave us an orientation tour of the neighborhood/downtown area which we much appreciated and dropped us off into town to pick up our rental car.

We arrived early in the day, expecting to drop our bags off and hang around town until we were able to check-in, but Gill and Paul allowed us to stay in one of their empty units while our apt was cleaned. They also provided a cell phone for use which came in handy. Washer/dryer in the apartment was an added bonus- you don't have to pack was many clothes! Peggy the housekeeper is super friendly and helpful.

If you stay here, eat at the Fish Pot restaurant down the street (town with grocery, restaurants, coffee places is literally a 1 minute walk from the apartment). Also, buy fresh fish from the fisherman at the Mt. Irvine wall.

Overall, the corner view apt exceeded expectations, hosts/staff are friendly/super helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Heights

Address: Alefounder Drive, Pleasant Prospect | Grafton, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Heights has 4 rental units which can be booked together or as separate apartments. The three bedroom apartment is very spacious with views of the Caribbean Sea and a private plunge pool. The one bedroom cottage is called "Sweet Nest" and it has its own private deck with gas BBQ & drive-up-to-the-door parking within property's gates. On the ground floor of the main house there are two adjoining apartments (if you would like to book a 2-bedroom unit) called "The Artist's Studio" and "Corner View", each capable of sleeping 3 persons comfortably. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Heights Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.