We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nylon Pool

Nylon Pool
11. 178256, -60. 824195, Tobago
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$77*
and up
Glass Bottom Boat Cruise at Buccoo Reef
Ranked #3 of 55 Attractions in Tobago
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The island's livliest beach.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The opportunity to float around in a large round sand bar in the middle of the sea far off from
shore is worth experiencing! The sand here is a bit grittier than on the beaches and I noticed lots of people were rubbing it on their feet and skin sort of as a natural exfoliant. There were a number of young children off some of the boats and they seemed to enjoy the shallow waters too -- though there is a bit of current . A unique experience....it is quite popular though so there were a number of boats there when we stopped.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    19
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pigeon Point & Bucco reef, Nylon Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A large sandbank makes it possible to stand up (5ft 6) out in the middle of the Carribean Ocean and this alone is a little bizarre. The whole area is pretty much paradise and being able to see the beautiful beach and lush rainforest from the ocean made for plenty of photos
It all seemed very safe and organised, whilst the glass bottomed boat bobbed around beside us all as we snorkled and looked at the coral and sea life.
You do not have to be a strong swimmer as they offer buoyancy aids on ropes and anyone interested in marine life should try this.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were sailing in a Catemeran and visited from nomans land, great fun and a must do but glad I did not have to pay for a trip here.

Like I say must do but do not expect too much though it was fun standing up in the middle of the sea!!

Snorkeled a little on Bucco reef but swells were very high so not a lot to see, better luck next time

At least I have been where Royalty was, the pool was named by Princess Margaret on her Tobago honeymoon, she said it felt like Nylon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosetown, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Overrated in my Opinion, Reef was Great though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A sandbar in the ocean makes this a very shallow swimming area...natural phenomenon...nice to see once, wouldn't go back there again. The snorkeling at the reef was really good...went out on a glass bottom boat, Power 1, and the owner pulled us behind his boat with a rope and surf board to see. This way, he did not throw his anchor and ruin the coral, and we could see more of the reef.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing! - Every and each time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

So i almost just came back from Tobago. My parents, grandparents, brother and me stayed in Bon Accord in a month so plenty time to do whatever Tobago could offer us. One of the things we just had to go too, was the famous Nylon Pool! Every time we went to Store Bay boys tried to sell us tickets to their boats, and they're not holding back with anything, but thats a part of it. But we decided to go on the boat called "SUGAR LIPS", and of course we all liked to see the Reef and Nylon Pool, so "Suggie" (The guy who owns the boat) was making sure that we should have a BBQ at No Mans Land afterwards. He collected a lot of people, and boy did we have a good time! Of course we talked with some locals guys, and they said that if you wanna have a party, and be sure to have a good time Suggie is the man. And we certainly did have a blast! He was making sure that everybody did well, no matter what age. I can definitely recommend everybody, to try a tour with Sugar Lips. Go to the amazing coral reef, then beautiful Nylon Pool, and then have the most crazy and fun time at the BBQ at No Mans Land! I will definitely take another trip next time i come back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nylon Pool also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nylon Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nylon Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.