We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of Tobago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Englishman's Bay

Englishman's Bay
Tobago
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Attractions in Tobago
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mysteriously uncrowded beach that is great for swimming and snorkeling.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The very best of Tobago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The lack of facilities enhances it's natural charm and prevents it from becoming too touristy. The beautiful bay is perfect for snorkelling and generally liming. There is plenty of natural shade, just be careful to pick your spot away from the coconut trees!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful BUT Scary!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The beach looked stunning from far...but once i got close enough to the water it was very scary for me...The place is pretty much lonely and secluded...should have better facilities..You cant call it the BEST beach in Tobago without the amenities..would suggest u go with a group off ppl tho...the drive was longggggggggggg.... BE CAREFUL with the roads...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of the nicest beaches I've visited. The sand is slightly coarse so doesn't stick quite as much as the very fine beach sand. Gorgeous view looking across the bay and you only have to go a few feet into the sea before you can start swimming.
The only negative is the distance from most of the hotels, although if you are looking for a quiet beach experience that maybe a positive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Town (Trinidad & Tobago)
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

water is calm, beautiful for bathing, lovely environment. Road leading to beach front in dire need of repair, should be better wash room and changing facilities. (latrine on the hill does not cut it)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinindad and Tobago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great little bay, and one of the island's best beaches. The water looked so inviting but I didn't go because I had a horrible flu. But my friends all say the same thing - that the water was absolutely amazing. There was a drop right after the waves broke the shore, you could actually see people drop while they were walking in the water so be very careful with young children. There was a little hut with a swing where I spent my few hours on the beach before visiting the souvenir shop. My only complaint may be that there were a lot of things dropping on the hut and this may be a problem as I saw a coconut drop very close to a young lady who was lounging on a towel in the shade under a tree. Great beach that isn't to commercialized, but this is actually an advantage because the beach was not crowded. There was only one place to get something to eat though, so it might be a good idea to walk with your own snacks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Englishman's Bay also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Northeast Coast, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Englishman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Englishman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.