We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best homemade hot sauce I've ever had on some delicious rice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Bay Cafe

King's Bay Cafe
524 Main Road, Tobago
+1 868-771-2716
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Tobago
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Café, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Visit our cafe. Relax, enjoy the view and breeze while we prepare fresh grilled food. Fish, Chicken, lamb chops, beef or fish burgers, hot dogs and vegetarian options all served with a choice of potato and coleslaw. Sunday 12pm to 5pm, Monday and Tuesday 12pm to 6pm, Wednesday and Thursday CLOSED,12pm to 8pm Friday and Saturday. Calling for a reservation is recommended. NOTE: CAFE CLOSED DUE TO PERSONAL REASONS BUT WILL REOPEN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
1 review
“The best homemade hot sauce I've ever had on some delicious rice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My mouth is still tingling , with the exquisite taste of the best hot sauce I've ever had: and I've tried hundreds. Try it with the rice, a great way to bring out the taste in the most flavorful food on Tobago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a very reasonable price with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family booked a table at this delightful restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews and were so impressed that we returned a few days later for more!
We sat on the terrace on both visits, enjoying the stunning views over King's Bay and the refreshing sea breezes. The menu offered a choice of freshly grilled fish or burgers followed by brownies/banana cake and coffee.
The food was expertly cooked and served with delicious home made coleslaw, hot sauce and a choice of fries/baked potato. The tuna was the tastiest ever!
We loved the hot sauce so much that Mike gave us a taste of 2 batches he'd made so that we could choose one to take home!
We enjoyed the lovely hospitality of the hosts which added to the wonderful ambience.
Thank you Mike and Joanne for some memorable dining!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this lovely little wonder of the Caribbean twice during our recent stay on Tobago. Mike & Sue were delightful hosts. The food was simple yet totally delicious and you absolutely must leave room for the homemade chocolate brownies and coffee ... as previous reviewers have stated ... scrumptious! On first visit I enjoyed the tuna fish seasoned beautifully, with fries, delicious homemade coleslaw and bread. The rest of the family and friends enjoyed the tuna and beef burgers. We sampled LLBs for the first time and loved them so much, we drank this for most of the rest of the holiday. Lemon, lime and Angostora bitters served over ice - wonderful! There is no alcohol served on the premises but they are happy for you to purchase beers from the nearby shop to drink with your meal. As both our visits were late lunchtime stop overs we were not fussed about beer/wine to accompany the meal. The service is great and you can hear Mike beavering away in the kitchen ... so you know everything is freshly cooked to order. Be prepared for a short wait but it's well worth it! On both occasions we sat out on the balcony overlooking the beautiful bay. The first time was a beautiful sunny day with blue cloudless skies and during the last visit, the heavens opened and liquid rain poured down. Yet this did not detract from our enjoyment or the amazing view. There is probably seating for a max of 12 on the balcony and the same inside so you might not get the table with a view if it's really busy. But well worth a visit or several visits. It was great chatting with the owners, hearing how they moved from New York to Tobago to live a simple, yet hardworking life on the island. We loved the coffee so much we even brought back Kings Bay Café coffee mugs as souvenirs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simple & Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

the food was simple and yet satisfying, the coleslaw was wonderful.... a friendly couple, the view from the café is beautiful. . try the brownies . Scrumptious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitenfurt
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“You should make a stop there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice place with a great view overlooking a bay without any settlement, only three tables on the terrace, good food, unpretentious servise. Genuine Caribbean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to King's Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.