We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for bird watchers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tobago Forest Reserve

Tobago Forest Reserve
11. 280638, -60. 585973, Tobago
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Attractions in Tobago
Type: Forests, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1763 to combat European deforestation of the island, this was the Western Hemisphere's first forest reserve.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting for bird watchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's something you feel you have to do whilst in Tobago, and our guide was excellent. It remains something special, having been preserved for over two hundred years. However, apart from a muddy, quite tricky walk spotting some rare birds there is little animal life to observe as they are virtually all nocturnal. So don't go expecting to see armadillos or snakes! A new museum centre is about to open which should add to the appeal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lots of trails for walking and exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The forest reserve is great, more so if you are an avid bird watcher. I'm not, but I'm almost converted! The trails aren't long, we did the spring trail, but are such a change from the hot sun and beach that you find 10km down the road. We had a guide, which was useful as it helped us identify different species of birds, and we learnt a bit about the history of the rain forest. If you don't have a guide, you will still manage to enjoy the reserve. If you do have a guide, again agree a price before embarking on the tour, as the price can change!

Worth a visit just for the change in temperature and the peacefulness of the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a wonderful forest tour with Junior Thomas following the Gilpin Trace in the Tobago Reserve. This is a hidden gem of a location and you really need a guide to help you spot the many attractions that are here. It's a gentle walk. Whilst we are not fanatical birdwatchers it should appeal to anyone with a love and interest in nature. Junior quickly picked up not only our lack of knowledge of the birds but also our enthusiasm to learn. He was more than willing to extend our stay beyond our allocated time. His enthusiasm and expertise made for a wonderful day. He took delight in showing us the range of birds, insects and plants and was keen to let us experience as much as possible. We were thrilled, as was he, to see common as well as rare species including the white tailed sabrewing. He was more than willing to answer our questions about the forest and life on the island as he took us on an island tour on another day. If you are looking for a guide who will make your visit special, then look no further than Junior and his company Unique Tours Tobago. D&E

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bird watchers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Get Kenton from Coco Reef hotel bird scaring service (with his hawks) to take you to the rain forest and show you his raptor rescue centre. (About £90 for two - he picks you up at 6am (ouch) and gives you breakfast and a wonderful commentry on the island as well as showing you 30-40 birds)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Went on a walk here, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to get Perter Cox to lead us in the forest and we were also lucky enough to see a fair number of birds, Peter really knows his birds.

Best was seeing a Hummingbird on her nest, superb.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobago Forest Reserve also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Tobago Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobago Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.