We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tobago getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shells Vacation Villas
Save Saved
You added Sea Shells Vacation Villas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   P.O. Box 498 | Scarborough, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Tobago getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I highly recommend the Seashell Villas. We stayed after Carnival for 3 nights in 130. We were 2 couples and 2 singles. The house was super cute and clean with enough space for all of us. The upstairs balcony was the perfect place for breakfast and dinner and the kitchen was equipped with plenty of dishes and cooking utensils that we could cook easily. The air conditioner worked well which is great for keeping mosquitos away and the rooms all had ceiling fans. The house keeper was lovely and she help arrange a Maxi-Taxi for us to Argyle Falls. The pool was well kept and we swam in it everyday a few times. It was a short walk to a few beaches and to the Bucco Reef/ Nlyon Pool glass bottom boat tours. There are many restaurants and bars close by.

The people who rented to us organized a taxi to pick us up at the Ferry terminal and the taxi guy ended up charging us much more then he should have for such a short ride (his excuse was that the Ferry was late and he had to wait for us) so I would recommend just getting a taxi when you arrive. It is very close to both the Ferry and the airport. Our internet didn't work the first night but as soon as we let them know technicians were sent to fix it and we didn't have a problem after that.

After reading a few one particular review on Tripadvisor I was a littler apprehensive but every single complaint that person had was 100% the opposite from our experience. Perhaps the management has changed hands because it was lovely in every way.

However we did bring citronella candles with us so we could dine out doors at dusk comfortably.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

May family stayed at villa 178 from 25 June to 6 July 2013. There are many villas that look the same but just in different lovely tropical colors. The neighborhood is okay with the exception of one area walking distance to these villas. The location of these villas are perfect as it is close to fast food eating places as well as a few popular restaurants and of course Pigeon Point and Store Bay.
Each villa has its own private garden, pool, housekeeper etc. Our villa was pretty clean and well kept, there is a decent size master bedroom up stairs along with a another room with twin beds both rooms en suite. There is also a small kitchen upstairs that opens up on to a veranda which looks on to the pool/garden this is the main dining area of the villa but there is also a small table and chairs down by the pool area where the BBQ pit is kept. The third room is downstairs as well and a third bathroom which also opens to the pool area. This villa was fully air conditioned dew to the monster mosquitoes that make their entrance at dusk. Our housekeeper Jenny came every other day and cooked the most delicious local food for a small fee. We want to the water fall, had local lunch in a tree house, went to the nylon pool and the lagoon and I even got to try stand up paddling which was awesome. We will definitely rent again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Looks charming from the outside but this is very misleading. Layout does not flow as the kitchen is located upstairs along with 2 bedrooms and the living room and 1 more bedroom are downstairs. The surrounding swamp causes huge mosquito infestations in the evening so you are forced to stay indoor. The only positive was the cook that came every day, she was very sweet and made great food. Overall very underwhelming

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This property was rented on my behalf by my University friend who was getting married in Tobago in November 2011. I was a bridesmaid and I travelled all the way from the UK to Tobago for the wedding. From the onset on arriving at the place, I realised that it was smaller than was advertised- actually quite congested and claustrophobic. It is not near the beach and is located in a small mosquito infested neighbourhood bordering a swamp/lagoon. The furniture was plastic and very cheap. In fact after having coffee in the upstairs balcony the next morning I realised that the plastic table was literally propping up by a stick! The kitchen is all the way upstairs and you have to pass through a very small congested stairs to get upstairs. Be careful not to trip on the loose carpet lest you fall and break your neck!The property manager Caribbean Estates were a complete disgrace! We never saw them. We saw a maid a couple days but she was always disinterested and was never helpful. This house is very dusty as if it has not been cleaned in years. The sheets are dusty and mouldy and all of the bridesmaids and the bride started having allergic reactions to the dust. Imagine the bride's mother had to go but detergent and wash the sheets herself to give us some measure of relief.

The house has a swimming pool but it is filthy and was never cleaned while we were there. We were all avoiding the house in the daytime because the filthy surroundings were making everyone sick. The bride was always in tears as she had developed a rash on her skin and my best bet would be from the filthy moldy sheets on her bed. The place is completely unsuitable to be advertised for vacation rental and the authorities responsible for public health on the island should definitely pay a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Sea shell villa #126 early in 2012 with friends for the most amazing week long vacation! The villa was absolutely gorgeous with all of the amenities of home surrounded by the lush tropical landscaping, beautiful wildlife, and clean ocean air!! The neighborhood itself is well maintained and clean, and the villa is perfect for families to enjoy the pool and barbeque area with plenty of room to spread out and play (or for couples to enjoy a romantic vacation with enough room for privacy). Upstairs contains two private suites with full bathrooms and separate air conditioners, and a full kitchen in the middle with french doors opening up to a spacious balcony that overlooks the pool and stunning back yard. Downstairs contains a living room, bar area, guest bedroom and separate bathroom with access to another large patio and grilling area. This villa contains everything you need to completely relax. Nearby beaches provide plenty of entertainment with friendly locals who can provide lots of information on excusions and activities, both for the daytime and night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at Sea Shells in villa 126 in January 2012 for a week. The house was beautiful, the backyard garden was idyllic with a mangrove forrest behind the property. We especially enjoyed the private pool and full kitchen. The beach was very close and we twice bought fresh seafoood (shark and lobster), and loved cooking it at the house and eating on the upstairs patio. The villa came equipped with an outside grill as well. We saved a lot of money by utilizing the kitchen and not eating at restaurants every day. In the mornings we had breakfast on the patio and fed the beautiful birds. Even with five people the house felt very spacious. The upstairs bedrooms had wondeful vaulted ceilings, their own bathrooms, french doors opening to a balcony, as well as their own AC units. The beds were very comfortable and the views were amazing. We were also thrilled to have wireless internet access. There was a tv, but we didn't waste any time watching it with such beauty to be appreciated all around us.

The two main beach areas of Pigeon Point and Store Bay are a short car ride away (less than 10 minutes). We were able to walk to small local shops and restaurants and to the undeveloped beach a little closer than Pigeon Point. The Tobagan locals were very friendly and helpful. We would absolutely recomend a trip to Tobago and a stay at this Villa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our group booked with the Villas of Tobago and we were assigned villa # 133. Upon arrival the superficial surroundings were decent but as we examined more closely this was not really the case.
The downstairs bathroom hadn't been cleaned, the shower stall was moldy and the sink had mildew. We actually had to call the housekeeper back to clean the toilet because this was unacceptable.
The bedding in the lower level bedroom appeared to have not been cleaned as it was also moldy. This bedroom also has one of those old school air conditioners that was so noisy.
Several of the pool lounger chairs were broken as well as some of the patio chairs.
The kitchen was so abused - broken fridge handle, missing dishes, wrecked pots and pans. Even the sink in the kitchen was covered in mildew.
The bathroom towels were well worn. The washer and dryer looked like they were over 20 years old, rusty and loud. You also have to buy laundry detergent and dish washing powder as it isn't provided.
We had no internet access, no dvd player, no jacuzzi (which we expected as not all villas have one) and the tv was outdated.
The only plus side was the private pool but even that needed a good cleaning. We tried to fish some of the leaves out ourselves but the cleaning net was busted as well.
If you are squeamish this is most definitely not for you. We had explained before booking that someone in our party just had surgery and we needed a very well-kept, clean villa so I shudder to think what the other villas look like. Unfortunately she was the one who discovered one of the broken pool loungers in the least convenient way and we literally had to help her up.
I think at the cost of just over $200USD per night you can find something newer and certainly cleaner in Tobago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shells Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells Vacation Villas

Address: P.O. Box 498 | Scarborough, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Shells Vacation Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Vacation Villas Hotel Tobago
Sea Shells Vacation Villas Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shells Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.