We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells Vacation Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Shells Vacation Villas
Save Saved
You added Sea Shells Vacation Villas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   P.O. Box 498 | Scarborough, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our group booked with the Villas of Tobago and we were assigned villa # 133. Upon arrival the superficial surroundings were decent but as we examined more closely this was not really the case.
The downstairs bathroom hadn't been cleaned, the shower stall was moldy and the sink had mildew. We actually had to call the housekeeper back to clean the toilet because this was unacceptable.
The bedding in the lower level bedroom appeared to have not been cleaned as it was also moldy. This bedroom also has one of those old school air conditioners that was so noisy.
Several of the pool lounger chairs were broken as well as some of the patio chairs.
The kitchen was so abused - broken fridge handle, missing dishes, wrecked pots and pans. Even the sink in the kitchen was covered in mildew.
The bathroom towels were well worn. The washer and dryer looked like they were over 20 years old, rusty and loud. You also have to buy laundry detergent and dish washing powder as it isn't provided.
We had no internet access, no dvd player, no jacuzzi (which we expected as not all villas have one) and the tv was outdated.
The only plus side was the private pool but even that needed a good cleaning. We tried to fish some of the leaves out ourselves but the cleaning net was busted as well.
If you are squeamish this is most definitely not for you. We had explained before booking that someone in our party just had surgery and we needed a very well-kept, clean villa so I shudder to think what the other villas look like. Unfortunately she was the one who discovered one of the broken pool loungers in the least convenient way and we literally had to help her up.
I think at the cost of just over $200USD per night you can find something newer and certainly cleaner in Tobago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We (party of 4) stayed at villa 178 and i must say it was wonderful! Our housekeeper Jennifer was pleasant, very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean, the downstairs bar needed a little updating...otherwise everything was great. It was very close to the beach and other eating places.

Has everything you need, plates, glasses, washer, dryer etc. The only downside was the mosquitoes....it was horrible once sundown came upon us...even in the pool at night they attacked. I advise that you walk with a bottle of OFF or some other insect repellent.

I recommend you try here, we are definitely going back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We rented the Seashell villa 130; but we had a last minute medical emergency that prevented us from going on our trip. We contacted the Caribbean Estates Land & Villas rental agency and told them about our situation. At first they were sympathetic but in the end they ended up not giving us any refund and we had paid the full amount ahead of time. This is an outrage as they kept several thousand dollars about a situation that was out of our hands and against all common courtesy. DO NOT pay all of the money up-front to this unreputable company!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed at this villa for 3 days as a 'chill out' after carnival which was well needed. The grounds and pool were beautiful and well maintained. The villa itself was a little dated, with small rooms, which would have been an issue if we were staying for a longer period of time. The location was perfect with both Pigeon Point and Store Bay beaches just down the road. The housekeeper, Sharon, was a little eratic to say the least, which resulted in us having to call the owner of the property, who dealt with her promptly and efficiently and was highly apologetic.
All in all a good trip.......great for a short break!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We rented two villas (#140 & #141) for various branches of the family. The pools were well maintained and the maid service in both was excellent. Air con and fans in all the bedrooms.

The location is good with easy access to local beaches at Store Bay and Pigeon Point but much of the time the children (and adults) loved the pool. Good tv reception with cartoons when the kids got tired!

Excellent layout with the the kitchen upstairs and great balcony for dining. All the essential equipment provided - washing machines, mixers, liquidisers, toasters, kettles etc. Outdoor gas BBQ - check you have gas in the cylinder before planning your BBQ

#141 was about bit larger than 140 which meant the downstairs bedroom was a good size with two double beds whereas the downstairs bedroom in 140 had a single double bed.
Downside to #141 was that there were no cushions for the loungers by the pool.

I would recommend an island tour with Harris MacDonald or Wayne Kennedy. And if you are there April - July seeing the Turtles laying their eggs at night is a must! Critically endangered species so no flash. Also the Plymouth Jazz Festival (more pop than jazz) in April is highly recommended. Enjoy!

  • Liked — pool and garden
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

We spent 5 glorious days and nights at villa #174 at Sea Shells Villas in Tobago from Jan 21-25, 2007. We were a bit apprehensive as we typically stay at larger chain resorts, but this has definitely set the bar for us in terms of future expectations. If you are not big party people, this is the place for you.The villas are located in a quiet neighbourhood of other villas - you basically get your own house with a pool and complete peace and quiet. The villa has 3 bedrooms (1 queen, 2 with 2 twins) and 3 full bathrooms so you could easily share with 2 other couples and/or a big family etc - it was just the 2 of us by the way. The pool was heaven - not huge but big enough - about 6 feet deep in the very centre and about 12 feet across. The gardens are lush, beautiful and are well maintained as they surround the pool and enhance your privacy.On the main level of the villa, there is also a mini-fridge, bar sink and cupboards so you can access your drinks easily! The villa has a sitting area with tv (wide range of channels)on this level, and full kitchen upstairs that opens up onto a beautiful deck with huge wooden dining table, muskoka chairs etc all overlooking the yard and pool. There is a security guard on duty 24/7 just across the road and you get your own housekeeper - ours was a nice girl named Nakeshia. They can arrange to have groceries there upon your arrival and the beaches (Store Bay), shops, mini grocery, restaurants and bank machines are within 5 minutes walking distance. As far as cost was concerned - let's just say that although just 2 of us stayed at this 3 bedroom villa, we would have paid much more staying at a resort hotel.This is the only way to go folks - Sea Shells Villas...your home away from home!!!! Thanks so much Christine as we hope to be back very soon!!!!!!!!

Lauren & Dave Maharaj
Oshawa,Ontario. CANADA

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

We have just returned from two weeks at Sea Shells. Accomodation was generally very good although we felt our villa was perhaps a little "tired" and the lounge seating could have been a bit more comfortable. Going upstairs to eat was quite a novelty ! The swimming pool was excellent and kept very clean. Each villa is surrounded by trees and shrubs making them all very private.

Anyone considering staying here should aim for villas up to number 136 - these all have their pool in the rear garden backing on to nature reserve. The villas with higher numbers (our was 179) use the front garden and therefore does not have the backdrop enjoyed by the others.

Assuming all the properties are built the same the only other thing to consider is that the downstairs bedroom is quite small with not enough storage for clothes. The two upstairs bedrooms appeared much bigger and with some extra storage space.

As has been mentioned do take mossie protection - it is an essential.

John Fox

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shells Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells Vacation Villas

Address: P.O. Box 498 | Scarborough, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Shells Vacation Villas 3.5*
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Vacation Villas Hotel Tobago
Sea Shells Vacation Villas Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shells Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.