We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melissa19” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apsara Restaurant

Apsara Restaurant
13 Queens Park East, Port of Spain, Trinidad
+1 868-623-7659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 103 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Melissa19”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Apsara is one of the best restaurant I have ever been to the staffs are friendly and the service is very good my favorites are lamb rojan josh and chicken tikka masala with peshwarin naan

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orcheta, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

A few friends where invited to a meal here! Quite a nice setting, apart from daft little steps here and there that the staff have to keep reminding you about. We put all our dishes in the middle of the table and tried some of each. Not big portions, but enough! I enjoyed the Mild Lamb Curry, and I must say that the Garlic Nam Bread was possibly the best I have ever tasted. Washed down with a few Carib Beers made a good night. I never paid so can't say how good the value was. Thanks Arthur!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went here for my 70th birthday, we wanted somewhere special and this is certainly great food and a nice decor, the aloo gobi was particularly tasty, the service friendly, if a little formal. The price was something else, the cheapest bottle of red wine was over $40 US and the bill for two over $150.00. I have eaten Indian food in the UK, just as good, for less than half the price but Port of Spain seems to encourage extravagant billing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service, and even less value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Admittedly, the food is good. The octopus, the fish with eggplant, the goat curry, and naan bread were delicious. However, the "must try, absolutely delicious" fish and shrimp soup fell very short of what Apsara boasted it would be

The service is absolutely terrible. I think you'll get great service if you spend over $200 USD; we spent just over $100 and they basically took our order and ignored us for the rest of the evening

We would never go back to this restaurant as any hole in the wall Indian restaurant is just as good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!! Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There's nothing I can think of to improve on this place. They have given traditional Indian dishes a fusion of Island hot flavor that's so satisfying I ate too much! Wonderful selections. Ask for recommendations because the menu is very very big.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apsara Restaurant also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Apsara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.