We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most expensive Indian food we have ever had!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apsara Restaurant

Apsara Restaurant
13 Queens Park East, Port of Spain, Trinidad
+1 868-623-7659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 103 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Most expensive Indian food we have ever had!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recommended by our hotel and within reasonable distance for a night time walk (15 minutes). We arrived just after a large party was being seated, which resulted in a very long wait for our dinner to arrive. Our server suggested a replacement for one of our choices, but failed to mention how costly it was! 3 tandori lamb (small) chops were $33...a bit of a shocker considering that our other choices were appropriate for the restaurant's ambiance. Perfect for people who like to arrive for a late dinner. If you linger over your glass of wine, they won't bring you your dessert until you have finished. Popular with the locals, judging by our fellow diners. I would go there again, but it would have to be for a special occasion to justify the expense. All the servers were attentive to details.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good if you like Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice place, good food and not badly priced compared to most restaurants in Trinidad. It's Indian food. Polite and good service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is delicious!
The decorations and ambiance were perfect! Our hostess/waitress, Susan, was warm, kind, attentive, knowledgeable and a perfect! (she even laughed at my silly jokes)
From the second I walked in with three Trini friends, I knew this was authentic Indian food. The prices were reasonable - not over priced at all.
If I ever go back to POS, I would love to eat there daily!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was treated to this restaurant on my birthday this year. Apsara was a pleasant experience. The food was good as this was probably the third time that I had ever eaten very hot curry. The previous occasions were during visits to Guyana and St. Kitts. I will certainly visit again and also try the Thai restaurant that is situated in the same location.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A go-to spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is very good and so is the service. However, I don't find it worth the price. I have been to other local Indian restaurants with even tastier food, larger portions and much less expensive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apsara Restaurant also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Apsara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.