We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the trip from the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Trinidad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Calgary, Alberta, Canadaneversaynever
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“worth the trip from the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have had dinner in the Waterfront restaurant in the past and had a nice experience, so decided to book into this hotel during a recent layover in Port of Spain. Although it is a 30+ minute and $30 taxi ride from the airport, it was worth it. Very welcoming staff, who accommodated at very early check in at 11am. Beautiful, clean, modern, tranquil rooms. Nicely equipped workout facilities. Nice atmosphere for drinks on the terrace. This was so much better than staying close to the airport, as we have done in the past.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    171
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
108
183
41
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel i general was in a very good condition and the staff helpful and attentive. We ate dinner in the main restaurant, which was excellent, with very good service. Th epool though is disappointing and looks in need of a revamp.
In addition, the pool area delivered some of the worst service I have ever experienced in a Hyatt property. Surly, disinterested and distinctly unhelpful characterise the experience we had on both days. We sat at a table for 18 and 22 minutes on consecutive days before anyone would even deign to acknowledge us- both days the pool bar was not busy.

it soured our experience so much we cancelled the two nighta we planned to stay there at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandy utah
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For an upscale hotel,they nit picked us to death. They were most un accommodating After 4 visits to the concierge we finally found someone who could grudgingly give us a map. This was during business hours. No help at all in arranging anything. The breakfast buffet was of limited variety compared to other upscale properties we have stayed at. The swimming pool was great and well maintained

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to Trinidad the first week of September. The Hyatt staff is professionnal, yet warm and accomodating. We really loved the service. All the small attentions surely make us want to go back. The pool area is unbelievable and the food is tasteful!! You can feel easily at home there. If you get a chance to meet Marck, an employee at the pool, he is one of the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first night we were met in the lobby with sparkling wine. The staff is over the top helpful. On a trek to a local beach, they made sure we had water and towels for our trip. They offered great directions wherever we wanted to travel, and always with pleasant demeanors and smiles.

The spa was great! Very clean, relaxing. They made us feel quite welcome and comfortable.

The pool bar was fantastic! Friendly, relaxed, laughing staff made it a very enjoyable, relaxing experience.

Fell in love with Oma, the cleaning woman on our floor (17), she was absolutely delightful!

The breakfasts served were varied, and delicious. My ONLY complaint was the coffee service in the restaurant...I had to practically beg to get a second cup.

Highly recommend...the hotel is beautiful, with many lovely seating areas, inside and out.

Room Tip: Amazing sunrises and sunsets were a bonus of a room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Being presented with chilled sparkling wine on arrival was a very good touch. Great ambiance in the swimming pool area. Although it was offered to us complimentary on requesting it we felt to be charged $ 20 a day for Wi fi connection was not what one wouldn't have expected in a hotel of this caliber. Staff helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Request floor 16 sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This government-owned hotel is operated by Hyatt and ideally located for those with government business - T&T parliament is just across the street - but isolated from the downtown area and not located in an area suitable for strolls. Hotel has modern facilities, well-trained staff and spacious rooms. Basic room rate does not include breakfast, internet access (US$ 15 per day) and basic business center usage (US$ 1 to print a page). Buffet breakfast is not generous, with limited choices. Lobby level terrace is great for early evening drinks overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms have beautiful view to the ocean. Even-numbered rooms face other buildings and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 428 room hotel presents offers contemporary style and an comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility, one full-In addition, a serene rooftop pool and terrace will provide a relaxing escape for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.