We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated,overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Trinidad to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
sandy utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Over rated,overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For an upscale hotel,they nit picked us to death. They were most un accommodating After 4 visits to the concierge we finally found someone who could grudgingly give us a map. This was during business hours. No help at all in arranging anything. The breakfast buffet was of limited variety compared to other upscale properties we have stayed at. The swimming pool was great and well maintained

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    198
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
120
204
46
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to Trinidad the first week of September. The Hyatt staff is professionnal, yet warm and accomodating. We really loved the service. All the small attentions surely make us want to go back. The pool area is unbelievable and the food is tasteful!! You can feel easily at home there. If you get a chance to meet Marck, an employee at the pool, he is one of the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first night we were met in the lobby with sparkling wine. The staff is over the top helpful. On a trek to a local beach, they made sure we had water and towels for our trip. They offered great directions wherever we wanted to travel, and always with pleasant demeanors and smiles.

The spa was great! Very clean, relaxing. They made us feel quite welcome and comfortable.

The pool bar was fantastic! Friendly, relaxed, laughing staff made it a very enjoyable, relaxing experience.

Fell in love with Oma, the cleaning woman on our floor (17), she was absolutely delightful!

The breakfasts served were varied, and delicious. My ONLY complaint was the coffee service in the restaurant...I had to practically beg to get a second cup.

Highly recommend...the hotel is beautiful, with many lovely seating areas, inside and out.

Room Tip: Amazing sunrises and sunsets were a bonus of a room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Being presented with chilled sparkling wine on arrival was a very good touch. Great ambiance in the swimming pool area. Although it was offered to us complimentary on requesting it we felt to be charged $ 20 a day for Wi fi connection was not what one wouldn't have expected in a hotel of this caliber. Staff helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Request floor 16 sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This government-owned hotel is operated by Hyatt and ideally located for those with government business - T&T parliament is just across the street - but isolated from the downtown area and not located in an area suitable for strolls. Hotel has modern facilities, well-trained staff and spacious rooms. Basic room rate does not include breakfast, internet access (US$ 15 per day) and basic business center usage (US$ 1 to print a page). Buffet breakfast is not generous, with limited choices. Lobby level terrace is great for early evening drinks overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms have beautiful view to the ocean. Even-numbered rooms face other buildings and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The ambiance is wonderful especially at the evening time the sunset is breath taking at the terrence , the staff is also friendly they make you welcome , they are very attentive to you the server Kardene was very nice my wife wanted a nice fruity drink and she recommended the the Island Vibes for her and my wife loved it and I was looking for a drink with local rums and she recommended the Traffic Jam for me which tasted wonderful . She made our time at the lobby bar very welcoming with her pleasant personality . I would definitely if your traveling to Trinidad you stay at the Hyatt regency . We would definitely come back and stay at the Hyatt

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent hotel situated on the waterfront. Reception very spacious and comfortable, Lovely terrace are but i preferred to sit in aircon inside as it was quite hot! Rooms immaculate and with everything you could need. Even if you forget something they have the convenience collection, check it out online for terms of what you can keep and what you cannot, delivered straight to your room. Staff were of the highest customer service i have experienced, very friendly and nothing was a bother to them. Some even take time to have a chat which is lovely if your travelling on your own so appreciated that! Highest commendations in particular to Christine who was excellent. Restaurant food was good 'naan' bread complimentary and was very good prior to having your main course, and they also had a 'cinnamon' cafe if you fancied a tea or coffee outside of hours, small gift shop also but truly an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 428 room hotel presents offers contemporary style and an comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility, one full-In addition, a serene rooftop pool and terrace will provide a relaxing escape for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.