We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at it's best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Trinidad to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Customer service at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I last stayed at The Hyatt in March 2010, again I chose a Club room, these are located on the 21st. And 22nd. Floors enjoying views either over the Gulf of Paria or over the city of Port of Spain. A Club room gives access to the private lounge on the ground floor a haven of relative peace with a terrace overlooking the Gulf. Anoshka and Candace were superb. The hotel is really business orientated but never feel that travelling solo or as a couple you will feel overwhelmed, you won't - if you are a people watcher - enjoy! The food and drinks on offer at breakfast time or early evening in the Lounge are excellent.
The infinity pool at fourth floor level is delightful, comfortable loungers with an excellent pool bar offering daytime drinks and food, again the view is over the Gulf.
I am a declared lover of Hyatt hotels wherever I have the opportunity to stay in them - the Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain is a credit to the brand.

Room Tip: For me, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    198
    49
    17
    14
See reviews for
120
205
46
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first stay at the Hyatt and it was a GREAT experience. Its great for any occasion. I was apart of a large group staying there for a Regional Meeting/ Conference in October. When we got there it was a bit intimidating with the Parliament building right beside it and it was obvious that the hotel was going to be full with other activities taking place. BUT from we pulled up in our taxi the bell men who greeted us were FABULOUS and seemed very sincere. I distinctively remember a gentleman by the name of Weekly, I became I'll during my stay an he always made it his point of duty to check up on me to see if i was feeling better. Rondell was a darling. Throughout our entire visit he ensured everything was perfect and that we were comfortable. Muammar, dining room manager, was great!!! He always checked to ensure everything was great and even gave us a few suggestions of places to visit in Trinidad also he showed great concern knowing that we were Jamaicans and during our stay at the Hyatt, we were experiencing Hurricane Sandy. The team that works on the Omlette Station FAB!! (Sorry i cant remember there names) They were more than Chefs they were great customer service reps. I remember Janelle too she was a good waitress. The Spa is heavenly. Had a great aromatherapy massage and fell asleep. I slept like a baby that night.

THE SUSHI!!! I'm back home and having dreams about it. It is HANDS DOWN the BEST SUSHI I HAVE EVER EATEN!! The entire hotel is great. The rooms, the view, the beds, the staff and the food were great. I definitely would revisit the Hyatt and recommend it also.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the harbor is great...Can watch the sunset or watch the Water Taxi go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hovik, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

OK - this will be short, because it is a very nice hotel:

1. The beds are very comfortable. Thumbs up.
2. Internet connection is actualle as fast as claimed. Thumbs up.
3. The sushi restaurant has probably the best sushi I have ever had. Ten thumbs up.
4. Staff was excellent. Thumbs up.

Will definitely return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent my last night in Trinidad of my honeymoon here at the Hyatt. The door man greeting us with class, was really friendly and offered us a beverage. The rooms are not the "best" I have see, I would say more business savy, rather then luxurious. But still very nice, a little small though. Here's the best part ... the sushi ! The sushi at the bar, is by far the BEST I have ever had. The service at the hyatt is great and I have no complaints. The staff is always friendly and smiling. Visit the sushi restaurant if you get a chance, you will NOT be disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We have been staying here for the second time around and have not been disappointed! The hotel is modern with spacious, elegant and comfortable rooms. The staff is extremely friendly, in excellent spirit and very service oriented. The offer a wonderful bfast buffet with fresh tropical fruit, bakeries, hot choices and local dishes. Killer pancakes with grilled banana! The hotel houses a fantastic sushi bar. The chef combines local spices and flavors with traditional sushi, amazing. Freshest fish ever. The pool is a delight with a small but clean infinity pool, nice sun deck and a fantastic view. We will come back any time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the bell men at the door, to the front desk I knew my stay was going to be wonderful. The staff made it a point to call me by name and my preference in wine was noted in the lobby bar from the first night. Excellent service, comfortable beds, awesome shower, fantastic gym, great food... This hotel is awesome. I will stay here over and over again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We checked in at the Hyatt Oct. 11 2012 for a wedding. Upon arrival our luggage were taken care of, while checking in we were given complimentary drinks !!! and the staff gave us a ocean view room without charge. The food was great so were the wait staff. They know how to treat us well. Will recommend to everyone. BTW there were 74 people checking in from our party. Great job Hyatt staff !!!

Room Tip: Right in the city of Port of Spain...close to everything that we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 428 room hotel presents offers contemporary style and an comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility, one full-In addition, a serene rooftop pool and terrace will provide a relaxing escape for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.