We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Wonder” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm's Hotel Trinidad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palm's Hotel Trinidad to your Saves list
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#35A Eastern Main Road, Trincity | Arouca, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“One Night Wonder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If it´s location that you are looking for then the Palms is ideal for the airport…Situated in Piarco (near Trincity) it is a motel type set-up with spacious rooms set around a courtyard, with several patios. It is located on a main road and the traffic is quite noisy throughout the day and night which is somewhat off-putting...The rooms are functional although the décor is tired and rather murky...The breakfast included in the price is very average (plastic plates and condiments and limited choice). The staff at Palms is amiable and there are various eating establishments in the vicinity with a range of choice. If you have a stopover for a night and don´t mind trading location for comfort and facilities then this place could be right for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
11
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at the Palms in January of this year. I went to Trinidad for a bit of peace and quiet, I took a secret solo trip not even tell my fam I was in the country, because it was a trip to focus on me and figure somethings out. The Palms made my time fabulous! I will always pick this hotel over any other, it was so peaceful the staff was wonderful helpful and kind. It was perfect for my purpose. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Not far from Piarco International al Airport and on the Main Road in the Arouca suburbs, Palms Hotel is my first choice every time I get in TnT. Firstly because is not foolishly expensive as the other hotels you may find closer to the airport or in Port Of Spain (I mean medium/high quality), second because it's in Arouca "city" which is were my business is. Not so many rooms but comfortable. Inner parking with security cameras all around as well as a real night-long security team at the entrance. Inner yard were you can have breakfast. Rooms almost clean with AC and TV. Ice cubes containers are on the outside corridors. The management is friendly and very helpful. As everything in Trinidad, you need to book AND lately send a confirmation note, or you may find some trouble as you get there. Services are maxis and taxis.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The Palms Hotel on the Eastern Main Road made for a pleasant stay during my business trip Trinidad. The room was suitable for a business traveler on a budget such as myself. Wireless was compilmentary which was great, however local phone calls cost and I ended up paying a $40 dollar phone bill at the end of my 9 day stay. They don't offer breakfast or serve food, you have to go out to get that which was cool gave me a chance to explore Trinidad. The staff was nice and they keep the place secure. I loved that anytime someone would come for me, they would first call me and not just allow them up. I felt safe there as a single female traveling.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The rooms are not very big but it's nice. I love the beds though, they are really comfortable. I like where it is located too because it is easy to get transport, and is close the airport and the mall.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel is smal but it is very convenient, clean, and comfortable. I go to Trinidad about 4 times a year and usually stay with family. I ended up staying at the hotel because my family had other guests and the house was too congested. A friend told us about the Palms and took us there to check out the place.

the rooms are VERY spacious and spotlessly clean. The rooms all come with complementary internet and cable. The hotel is located off the main road and is only about 30 mins away from port of spain, about 10 mins to the airport and 5 mins to Trincity mall. The bathrooms didn't have a bathtub but nicely tiled stand-up showers.

The staff were ok -- they just seemed kind of awkward. There was only one staff and a security guard. When u walk into the office they just kind of look at you with a cold stare -- there wasn't much greeting or anything but once you talked to them they were kind and very helpful.

One thing to consider is that the room did not have a security safe. Also, if you are going out they asked that you leave the key at the front, I was uncomfortable with this at first but nothing was ever missing or out of place when wer returned to the room.

The hotel provides continental breakfast in the mornings ( muffins, donuts, cookies, tea, coffee, toast, and cereal).

For me the only downsides were that the hotel doesn't have a pool or room service/other food service available after hours. We walked up to the junction to get local burgers, fried chicken, and french fries. For someone who isn't used to the area/ who is not a local this may not be safe or a good idea. if you are hungry late at night, try to order KFC from arouca junction, otherwise you wil lremain hungry until morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed at the Palms Hotel in Arouca, Trinidad at the end of August 2010. My friends and I travelled to Trinidad to attend a friend's wedding. This hotel's location is excellent! It's just a short taxi ride to the local mall, movie theatre, other stores, and the airport.

We got a deluxe room and it was very spacious, clean, and beautiful! There was a huge bathroom and we also had cable TV and a mini fridge. The hotel serves a basic breakfast consisting of coffee, tea, juice, toast, and muffins. Their breakfast selection could be better but overall, this hotel provides great service and value for your money.

The guy at the front desk was extremely helpful and even loaned us chargers for our iPods and cell phones (he had a stash of things in the "lost & found" that previous guests had left behind).

I would definitely stay at the Palms again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm's Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm's Hotel Trinidad

Address: #35A Eastern Main Road, Trincity | Arouca, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel located 5 minutes from Piarco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm's Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinidad Palms Hotel
Palm's Hotel Trinidad Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm's Hotel Trinidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.