We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Forty Winks Inn to your Saves list
Forty Winks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rate discont
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed four nights, and enjoyed it very much. The beginning was a drama with a lost suitcase but Karen chased it up and all turned out well. This is more of a B & B than hotel and I feel that is good because you felt like you were staying with friends. Very good meal's at Martins and Trotters. Thanks again Karen for the help and advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
36
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well kept guesthouse, located well with respect to restaurants/pubs in Port of Spain.
Gentle staff, very wililng to help you to plan your day-trips. Well prepared breakfast.
Rooms are sufficiently large, airconditioning ok, breakfast room is coasy.
We thought that the taps and the fan in the bathroom should be cleaned better. Furthermore, the fan in the bathroom was too noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My stay at Forty Winks Inn was pleasant and enjoyable. This an ideal place to stay as it's within easy access to downtown Port of Spain, St James and the Queens Park Savannah. Pam and her staff was excellent in providing information on places to dine and arranging transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great stay at Forty Winks. Pam and her staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. OK, so the rooms may be a little small for some but they are comfortable and we did not plan on spending much time in them. Very good breakfasts. A little nervous about security and parking on the street at first, but it was never a problem. We usually managed to get the car right outside the door. Forty Winks is in a good location for walking out to the restaurants, bars and the Savannah area and is well located for getting into or out of Port of Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The place is pretty small. My room was not very clean, no windows and from the bathroom we could be seen from the upper floor. The space was too cramped. I was never able to get internet service. There is absolutely no where to park your car safely, except on the streets. If you move your car and return then you have to park a good distance off and walk back. Some of the streets are now one way so you must have a map or ask a kind soul of directions.
There is no sign on the building bearing its name, if I had not seen the picture on the internet I would have passed the building then would have had to make the drive all over again.
The employees, I must say were welcoming. They need to do major overhaul to the place and rooms and better lighting in the corridor.

Room Tip: Maybe you can specify exactly the type of room you are looking for. We really needed a place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
That Forty Winks has maintained a superior status on Trip Advisor over the 8 years of its existence is evidence of its consistency in delivering a quality product and service to its hundreds of guests internationally.

If our local clients had looked behind the curtains they would have found windows on 2 sides of the room. If they had asked for assistance with the internet service they would have been helped immediately. A number on a building is indicative of its location.

The building was re-painted and refreshed inside and outside in June 2012 including desks, cupboards and side tables. The flowers are blooming on the open air terrace which affords an alternative space to relax. If these clients specifically wanted parking facilities we would have happily referred them to our associate facility nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Forty Winks for 4 days & even though the rooms were small, the ambience & friendliness of the staff more than made up for it! The place was clean & very cosy & we felt very well looked after by Pam & her team.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Recently stayed here prior to Aust V Windies test at queens park oval which would be an 8 min walk from hotel. Pam and her staff were absolute gems and I would stay at forty winks again in a heartbeat. The rooms are small but adequate for a budget room. The hotel is very central to Port of spain and arapita av where all the nightlife action is.If you love italian food pop into Buzo (2min stroll)for a memorable nosh--world class. Cheers Dean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Address: 24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Forty Winks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty Winks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.