We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Forty Winks Inn to your Saves list
Forty Winks Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I'm from London and stayed at Forty Winks for 3 weeks, with 11 other young musicians working with a local choir. We had a wonderful time, enjoying the roof terrace and dining areas together, for meals, sun bathing and generally relaxing. The accommodation is perfect, very comfortable, with excellent bathrooms and delicious breakfasts every day. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
46
37
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a place that I will never forget! Clean, Cool and great food! We stayed at the Forty Winks Inn for over a week and we just loved this place! It is located in a great location by many restaurants, supermarkets and not to far from downtown Port of Spain. Pam the owner is so hospitable and friendly unlike anyone else that we have ever met. If you want a piece of Trinidad this is the place to stay!

Shawn, Olivia & Ariel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was quite small. Not the most comfortable room in the world. In addition, my friend was not too pleased with her bed since it was lobsided and she found hairs in her bed. We only had one channel working on our TV. They do give you a complimentary breakfast and staff is very friendly and helpful. I would consider this a hostel rather than a bed and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel if you are not going to be in the room much since you really cant beat the price but with the current curfew in Trinidad, this might not be the best choice since there is nothing to do on the premise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great little guest house! really enjoyed our stay here. Very helpful staff, amazing breakfasts cooked to order. The only problem was internet access, which was not fixed during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
So little control we sometimes have over the quality of the wireless service. When the system fails we restart the router; if that fails we refer to our I.T. consultant. Very often we have to wait for the service provider to render assisstance, and the timing of this we have no control over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Found the rooms smaller than expected. Business people stay here who cannot afford the big hotels - mainly men. Found it far too expensive for what was offered.
Won't be staying here again. Felt like a sardine. Had to find places to go as rooms too small to stay in, unless to sleep

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Our rooms meet the minimum size standard for Trinidad and Tobago. Americans who are used to oversized and upsized products will find our rooms smaller than normal. Europeans have absolutely no problem, being used to operating in smaller spaces.
As many women as men stay here. We have I.T consultants, University Professors,Professionals on business, Company Executives, at least one of whom flies his own plane on business trips within the U.S.,housewives, simple folk. Retired people, families of all ages, young couples, honey mooners, We have a core of clients, salesmen, holiday makers, who return to us any time they visit Trinidad .
Included in our price, breakfast, taxes, wireless internet, itinerary planning and consierge services,, as much coffee and tea as you need, 24 hour front desk service (unheard of for a 5 room facility)daily room cleaning, business support. and lots of good cheer and personalised service.
We cannot be all things to all people. We deliver what we promise, and we did not promise an expansive facility, just a really sweet, comfortable place to stay when you are away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The staff here are helpful and friendly, and a good breakfast is served each morning. The place is small and simple, but very well kept. You can walk from here to most parts of the city quite easily.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were back in Trinidad after doing business in Tobago and wanted a place close to Port of Spain for a short while. Cleanliness is very important to me and I must say this place was close to perfect. To top it off breakfast was great. My only concern was parking in the street, but all went well. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend and stay at forty winks again! Great Job Guys! Please keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Address: 24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Forty Winks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty Winks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.