We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alicia's Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicia's Palace
Save
You added Alicia's Palace to your Saves list
3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
San Fernando, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Here is a great place to stay.. the service, the atmosphere, the environment, its amazing!!! The view from the hotel is amazing and you can sit out in the dining area and enjoy it to your heart's content. I found the staff to pleasant and the food was excellent, there is also internet access at the front desk. The rooms are fine. If you like a bit of exercise then you can always walk down to the bottom of the hill and then back up again. When ordering meals or beer pay by cash as it is cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
17
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CARIBBEAN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed at this property and all I can say is never again. Our room was located on the top floor and had to put down our luggage to switch on the lights in the hall way so we could see where we were going, when we finally got to the room the door was staring open and very hot inside. Next day we woke up to a heavy banging noise like someone was hammering something or the other which was really annoying.

We had an early business meeting and were greeted with no water at all, try calling the front desk to report that there’s no running water in the room to find out there was no extension to front desk from the phone system or at least we didn’t know what the extension was because it wasn’t listed on the phone. After waiting for about 45 minutes the water came back on which made us late for our meeting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Having read some reviews of this accommodation I have a couple of things to say to fat Americans - get a life and get some exercise! Is it any wonder you can't fit in the bathroom? And this place is built on the side of a hill so why would you expect an elevator? The view from the hotel is amazing and you can sit out in the dining area and enjoy it to your heart's content. It is slightly irritating that the tv and loud music are on at the same time. I found the staff to pleasant and the food was excellent, there is also internet access at the front desk. The rooms are fine - they do what they say on the tin - if you want luxury and want to pay through the nose then go elsewhere. If you like a bit of exercise then you can always walk down to the bottom of the hill and then back up again. When ordering meals or beer pay by cash as it is cheaper!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a separate kitchen with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When booking the room, I asked about the size and whatnot to make sure it would be a room I would want to stay in. I was assured that it was a nice room and that even though there was no balcony there was a decent view out of the window and there was a balcony down the hall.

The pricing scheme was:


1st & 2nd Floor = $562
3rd Floor with decent view = $484
Not much of a view = $420

We were given a room on the 3rd floor like I had requested thinking it would be decent with an okay view.
The room was big enough to fit a double bed in the corner with a fridge pushed into the corner and a (maybe) 20 inch TV in the corner.
The bathroom was just as bad, TINY.
Combined with the low ceiling you felt like you were in a box.

We had paid for 4 nights at a total of $1936 and had to pay an extra $400 to upgrade to a room on the first floor.

The upgrade was only slightly better. The room was definitely bigger with higher ceilings holding 2 double beds and a single bed, with a mini fridge and TV. The bathroom was also bigger. However there was a giant pillar in the middle of the bedroom as well as the bathroom.
Think of it this way, if you sat on the single bed you would need to be able to see through the pillar to watch TV.

There was a desk of sorts with a mirror around so I guess it was to double as a vanity. However, to be able to use it as a desk you would have to be about 6 feet tall as the chair given to use the desk was so short.

There was no kettle, iron, ironing board, safe or mini bar in the room either.

The bed was a spring mattress and spending more than two nights on the bed is not recommended. By the time I left my neck and back were hurting.

The bathroom is a matter on its own. There was a tub for which I was grateful, however, the pillar was flush against the tub making movement once you were in the tub difficult. The worst of the bathroom was if you left the toilet seat up there would a constant pee smell. Only if the seat was down could you breath easily.

The room description boasts that there is a balcony but it is not a private balcony. There ware 3 rooms facing the front of the hotel (driveway side) with balconies but all 3 are connected and the last is connected to the stairs.

The room was cleaned everyday by house keeping. Again though nothing went smoothly here. We were normally in the room when it was out room to be cleaned. The last thing done by house keeping was the mopping of the floor. The chemical used to clean the floor was suffocating. Once that was sprayed I had to step out on to the balcony to get some fresh air and wait for the room to be aired out.

Breakfast was served from 7am-10am in the dining room. The dining room was on a large porch overlooking the rainforest and the city. The first day we had breakfast there was a large range of choices and was enjoyed thoroughly. On the next two days things took an about turn. There was a limited menu and if you came anytime close to 10am be prepared to only get bread and toast.

What was sampled form the menu for breakfast on that first day and once from the dinner menu was well prepared and extremely tasty.

There is a small pool that looked clean. On the third day I discovered the pool table and gym. However, there is no signage or anything of the sort to indicate that they are there initially.

All in all I wouldn’t recommend Alicia’s for anyone unless as a one night if you must.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 2 if you have to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I decided to take my girlfriend to Trinidad for a vacation and had the WORST time at ALICIAS PALACE and this was no palace but more like the devil's house itself.The staff was discourteous
and rude lacking personality and customer service.The shuttle driver's Mr LOPEZ and Mr SINGH are EXTREMELY LAZY,IGNORANT AND IMPOLITE..I would never recommend this hotel to anyone not even my enemies because they seemed annoyed with anyone who are ambitious and educated.We had no access to down town PORT OF SPAIN and they are so close but would rather have their guest pay for a cab to be dropped off.There isn't enough time in the world to list the insipid experience in the hotel but my blogs would suffice in the NEAR FUTURE...........

Room Tip: I would never recommend this hotel to anyone..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I visited this property in August 2011 and although it is removed from the hustle and bustle of the Savannah and POS, it is easily reachable by a 5 minute journey by car. One of the upsides of this hotel is that a shuttle to the Savannah is included in the rate. The new rooms are wonderfully spacious and are equipped with Cable TV, AC and some with large balconies. The bathrooms are more or less basic but clean. The older rooms face the forest and are a bit smaller but still comfortable and also include a small fridge, AC, Cable TV and free wireless internet! . The rooms are clean and the staff VERY helpful. I must shoutout Melissa who has been stellar!!! There's also a restaurant on site, a separate dining/play area with pool table and a small pool. All in all a comfortable experience, It could be a bit cheaper, but the location and amenities make up for it.

Room Tip: the newer rooms which are larger and have beautiful balconies that face the city! try to get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Situated in one of the hills that line he city of Port of Spain. The view is certainly scenic and the fresh breeze that greets you on a hot day makes this place feel like a lil slice of heaven. However in spite of this I have to say that I was a little disappointed since the cost of the staying here is not worth what you get. I expected more "bang for my bucks".

The rooms are clean and he bed comfortable but it is otherwise quite average. For 600+ TTD one will expect a nicer ambiance in the rooms themselves.

That being said the staff were quite courteous and helpful. The breakfast was nice and tasty as well. But all in all it was just an average experience.

Room Tip: You can request rooms. Ask for room 11 or 5 since you get a better view and a somewhat private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alicia's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Palace

Address: 3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will welcome you with the magic that Trinidad is famous for. Just minutes from the capital city, an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility await your arrival. Set in the midst of tropical flora and fauna The Palace abounds with scenic decks and modern-styled rooms to its mid-sized conference rooms and multiple reading nooks, it’s just the refreshing escape you were looking for. Alicia’s Palace can accommodate you today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Palace Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicias Palace Port Of Spain
Alicia's Palace Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicia's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.