We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Coblentz Avenue | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Port of Spain
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at Coblentz inn on business for 3 weeks. Throughout my time there, the staff was attentive and friendly. Special thanks to the cleaning staff. The few times that I ate lunch at the hotel, the food was excellent. The breakfast is best if you are early. There is a nice terrace/patio upstairs that is cool in the evenings. I recommend this place because it has character. The management, front desk staff, restaurant staff, and security are all helpful and professional. It is not a resort but a boutique hotel so for business travel, or tourists with plans in Trinidad, this place is one of your better options.

Room Tip: they have themed rooms, ask about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
9
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in this very artsy boutique for one night and i wish i was able to stay longer!...the boutique Idea is very creative, and although i was in a center room with no windows i still enjoyed it!.. I also asked one of the employees to give me a tour around the Boutique before i checked out and she was very happy to show me around .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Saw all the good reviews here + the recommendation on NYT and went for it.

Staff attitude was terrible. No one to help with us with the luggage when we had to move rooms twice because the shower handle came out in my hand in the allotted room and water was gushing in.

They just stood around and watched -- same as on the first day when we came in -- woman at the reception offered to help with the luggage and picked the lightest bag. Felt like saying: hey why don't you take my handbag instead?

But owner handed back a cash envelope we had left behind in the melee. So yes honest.

No warm smiles -- no nothing. Forget umbrella, just barely buzz you in without a wait, even when they see you get out of a cab in pouring rain.

Rooms are small but cheerfully painted. Breakfast -- passable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly and polite staff... always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. Restaurant is okay, no complaints, A great place to stay if you have business to do in Port of Spain and to beat the traffic.. here is a gret place to stay... conveinient

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small quaint and very good accommodation. Friendly staff and good restaurant. Easy access to all of the city and surrounding areas

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coblentzinn, Manager at Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed two nights here and although the room was fine (a bit cramped) we were particularly disappointed with the restuarant. As it was advertised as a fine dining restaurant we expected more. Breakfast was minimal and in the evening dinner took ages to arrive. Once it did arrive it was luke warm. This hotel is ok to stay in but I woudln't recommend it if you're going to also eat there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coblentzinn, Manager at Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We thank you for taking time to review Coblentz Inn and Battimamzelle Restaurant.
Your comments regarding the restaurant have been discussed with the Food & Beverage Manager so that we can improve our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

As we were late in booking our travel to Carnival, we were lucky to get in here because of a cancellation. They were very good about getting back to me and helpful once we arrived. Our room was so small that I had to move the tv to make room for our second suitcase. There was just enough room to maneuver around the bed. Being in Trinidad there were bars on the windows so it added to the claustrophobic experience. It was very clean an well located. Food left for something to be desired.

Room Tip: If its just one person room 15 is fine, other wise it is quite tight for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 44 Coblentz Avenue | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel is located in the Port of Spain surburb of Cascade. We are less than 10 minutes away from the Queen's Park Savannah and the business center of Port of Spain. We have 17 rooms and all are equipped with kitchenettes and are en-suite. Wireless internet is available throughout our property. Some of our rooms are decorated to depict the history & culture of Trinidad & Tobago. Battimamzelle Restaurant is our in house restaurant. They serve international food with local fusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coblentz Hotel Boutique
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.