We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Coblentz Avenue | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small quaint and very good accommodation. Friendly staff and good restaurant. Easy access to all of the city and surrounding areas

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coblentzinn, Manager at Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
8
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed two nights here and although the room was fine (a bit cramped) we were particularly disappointed with the restuarant. As it was advertised as a fine dining restaurant we expected more. Breakfast was minimal and in the evening dinner took ages to arrive. Once it did arrive it was luke warm. This hotel is ok to stay in but I woudln't recommend it if you're going to also eat there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coblentzinn, Manager at Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We thank you for taking time to review Coblentz Inn and Battimamzelle Restaurant.
Your comments regarding the restaurant have been discussed with the Food & Beverage Manager so that we can improve our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

As we were late in booking our travel to Carnival, we were lucky to get in here because of a cancellation. They were very good about getting back to me and helpful once we arrived. Our room was so small that I had to move the tv to make room for our second suitcase. There was just enough room to maneuver around the bed. Being in Trinidad there were bars on the windows so it added to the claustrophobic experience. It was very clean an well located. Food left for something to be desired.

Room Tip: If its just one person room 15 is fine, other wise it is quite tight for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

After reading all the rave reviews, we were excited for the Coblentz, which was a bit of a splurge for us at $145 (at least, for Port of Spain, which seemed like an unjustifiably overpriced city to us). Although it's nice and has some charming features, I think the price is high, and the experience at the restaurant, in particular, left a bad taste in our mouths (the food was OK, but the stuffy basement location, bad decor, sullen wait staff and very limited menu were a letdown - I'll post a separate review of the restaurant).

The themed rooms in the Coblentz are very cute despite being on the small side - however, we were placed in the least exciting of them (based on the website photos and peeking in other rooms as much as I could while there), "This Old House," even though many of the others weren't occupied. I guess we could have asked to be moved, but it didn't seem worth it for a one-night stay, and the woman at the front desk was not very warm. Inside the room, the stack of themed books had a few interesting selections about the history of Trinidad & Tobago (along with some I can't imagine anyone browsing), but there were so many of them that they took up an inordinate amount of space in the tiny room. Things in the room were in a generally scuffed and aged condition, which doesn't bother me in a budget place . . . but this place really is not. The common areas are also well-decorated, though not very inviting to actually sit in for any reason. The terrace outside of the restaurant looked nice (we had a view of it from our room), but we weren't allowed to sit there.

All in all, it's not a bad place: the location would be inconvenient if you didn't have a car, but the neighborhood is among the most pleasant we saw in Port of Spain. And the hotel is fine, just not as original and exceptional as we were hoping it would be. We enjoyed our stay, but I think this place should be priced about 1/4 to 1/3 lower, and I don't usually begrudge a splurge when the destination merits it.

Room Tip: avoid the "This Old House" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We thank you for your comments and assure you that we will be conducting further inhouse training to ensure that our staff are friendly and helpful to our guests.

Regarding the outdoor dining area, this was under repairs that weekend so it was closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Nice hotel in a quite location - the staff was very helpful and attentive!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

A great place to stay in Port-of-Spain, we went back twice. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. And they each have their own character which gives the feeling of a guest house rather than a bland impersonal hotel. There are lots of books in the rooms and in the halls about the area to pick up and enjoy. The kitchens aren’t really big enough to cook in but ok for a cup of tea or to make a snack and look very cute. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
They could do better with their breakfasts as they were a bit basic and felt like they were a bit of an inconvenience for them. Also their showers could do with a bit of work, as we had 2 rooms and neither worked very well. The pool was just being finished so it was hard to comment but it looked like it might be more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool and I think the restaurant might have seen better times because it was always empty, but we never tried the food so not sure if that is the reason.
You will need a car in port-of-spain or a good cheap taxi (ask around the hotel one's aren't the cheapest) as you are advised not to walk around after dark. This place is in a nice area of port-of-spain but not down town, but when we stayed down town we were told we had to take taxi's anyway so made no difference.
But apart from those things we had a great couple of stays and we would definitely recommend it as THE place to stay in POS. I think if you choose to stay here you will be very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stay here if you plan to be out and about. Rooms are tiny, clean and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Supermarket and fruit stand in walking distance made it convenient to use the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: 44 Coblentz Avenue | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel is located in the Port of Spain surburb of Cascade. We are less than 10 minutes away from the Queen's Park Savannah and the business center of Port of Spain. We have 17 rooms and all are equipped with kitchenettes and are en-suite. Wireless internet is available throughout our property. Some of our rooms are decorated to depict the history & culture of Trinidad & Tobago. Battimamzelle Restaurant is our in house restaurant. They serve international food with local fusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coblentz Hotel Boutique
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.