We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trying hard a worth a look” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“trying hard a worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This property is located next to a very mediocre mall and is otherwise suited mostly for business travelers. Lobby is comfortable and seems remodeled in recent history. Good space for working on laptops, catching up on news and having a drink at the bar. Staff is quite professional, helpful and well- trained. If you have to be in this area rather than in the more enjoyable parts of Trinidad, it's definitely worth a look.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the front of the hotel facing the street be aware that you are directly across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Lisainthestates,

We are pleased that our lobby design and layout met your needs. Thank you for recognising the efforts of our staff.

Happy holidays from the entire team and we hope to see you again sometime in 2014.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    159
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
67
83
33
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a great place...I'm in a different Marriot every week due to my job, so I know how good they are, how customer focused they are but this place is incredible! Everybody is not just friendly, they actually care and they are so EFFICIENT. Definitely would go back and, saving the best for last, I want to recognize front desk person Nelinne Prosper: I think she actually reads minds and knows what you are going to ask before you do! She's amazing: Front Desk, Concierge, Travel Arranger, anything you need she's there, gets it done, and with a smile! Thanks a million Nelinne!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Joeriotta,

We really appreciate your taking time out to share your experience with us. Your recognition of Nelinne has been shared with her and she has received recognition from her peers and from other employees. We are particularly pleased that she represented our Marriott culture well.

Happy holidays from our team and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 1st Anniversary at the Marriott this weekend. We purchased the 'Romance Package' which included a three course dinner, breakfast and 2 open tickets to Movie Towne. Upon our arrival there were two other people ahead of us at the Front Desk, nonetheless a member of staff came from the back office to assist us and expedite the process. When we later got to the Front Desk we were surprised that the Front Desk agent wished us a Happy Anniversary. We were also upgraded to a suite to commemorate our occasion. Much thanks to Mr Ayow who helped us with our booking and Tojo for giving us such a pleasant welcome and surprise.This was a nice touch.

We got up to the room and were blown away by how spacious and luxurious it was. It was also extremely clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and were amazed by the variety of dinner options given the fact that we were on a package. It was also quite nice to have the dinner staff touch base with us throughout our meal. After a comfortable night's rest, breakfast was just as enjoyable and the options were all quite enticing. At each staff encounter we were also greeted with smiles and salutations.

I can definitely say that this was a lovely way to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. I think that this package is well put together and definitely well worth it. Thanks to each staff member for making this experience so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is a typical courtyard, clean, comfortable and friendly. What I like most about this hotel is the location. It is located in Movie Towne Shopping complex. There are multiple restaurants in the complex ranging from high end to fast food and in between. There are both local and American chains. The other major hotels in Port of Spain are all in locations where the only choice without traveling by car is the hotel restaurant, and none of them are good enough to be an every day diet. I can walk out the door and have anything from a great steak to a subway sandwich and remain in a totally safe area.
Of course the staff is attentive and helpful and always remember me when I come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies face the stadium and can be noisy during events. However I have never seen an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
DCSDon,

Thank you taking time to share your feedback on your experience with our staff, they will be happy to know that you appreciated their efforts.

We are happy that our location facilitated your needs well and we trust that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again some time soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was stranded in Port of Spain by a combination of Caribbean Air and United after more than a week in the jungle in Guyana. I wanted something nicer than the standard island fare; water pressure, a TV that worked, solid wifi, no bugs and pillows! The Courtyard was great, just what I expected but the staff was amazing. After being stranded at the airport and trying to deal with the staff that didn't even measure up to less than helpful, the Marriott crew was great and just the smiles I needed. Everything was top notch, nicer than many US Courtyards.

I can't imagine me ended up in POS again but if it happens, I know where I'm staying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
MichaelN,

We are pleased that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay despite your travel experience. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon, hopefully this time on a planned visit.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. The length of stay was two weeks and was not disappointed once with either the room, food, or service. My room was one of cleanest if not the cleanest rooms of ANY brand of hotel I have stayed in. There was no trace of dirt or dust in the corners or bathroom. It was obvious that housekeeping did a very thorough job.

The restaurant, in addition to the "usual" fare, offered several local dishes that were excellent - even after two weeks I did not get tired of eating there. The service was the best I have experienced in any Courtyard or similar hotel class. Both Paulines (day and evening were terrific!)

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and professional. I was always greeted as I entered the lobby.

I plan on using this Courtyard whenever I travel back to Port of Spain!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side (away from the main road) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I am happy to compose this review on behalf of my family and business associates. We have stayed an excess of 15 days and it's been wonderful. Comfort, food, ambience, pool, room and amazing hospitality. They've selected their entire team of staff well. The general manager is a gem of a professional and their extension of client loyalty is great. This is the first flawless review I have given. Do remember to book your stay when in Port of Spain, Trinidad at the courtyard by marriott.

Also the hotel is located in walking distance to a variety of restaurants from Asian to Brazilian, a grand movie theater and shops, cafés, a wholesale retail warehouse ( similar to Costco) and a casino with live tables for card players and over a hundred slot machines. There is also a grand carousel and play park for the kids and a host of fast food joints all in walking distance. This area next door to the marriott is called Movietown. For the business traveller or tourists who would like to explore Trinidad's nightlife on Aaripita Avenue ( the main avenue with a series of clubs, lounges, restaurants, members clubs etc ), its located just a five minute drive away from the hotel with car service provided at the hotel.

So visit Trinidad and come to this one of a kind category 4 "courtyard by marriott" and experience what hundreds of guests have had the pleasure to at this distinct hotel out of 3600 Marriotts worldwide.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Courtyard Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.