We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Excellent business hotel. Nothing fancy, but great location, great staff and clean. Walking distance from restaurants, movie theater and bars. I recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    110
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
67
28
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This was the second stay at the Courtyard property, we live in Trinidad and wanted to celebrate our anniversary so escaped to the Marriott for a weekend.

It was just as great a stay as the first time; the room was very comfortable, clean, wonderful bed and amenities. As return guests we were treated to a free gift from the hotel's "tuck shop", nice touch.

Although a business hotel, the hotel caters well to it;'s weekend clientèle and we shall return again as the hospitality was very welcoming.

  • Liked — room, pool, breakfast
  • Disliked — some noise from highway
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie33
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Great Hotel to stay in, one of the best in POS. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant there is very good, the selection is not too big, but they make a great burger! They do not have much local food on the menu, it is mostly American food. Pool area is not very busy, but it is nice and peaceful. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. It seemed like every time I looked around there was a staff member cleaning!
We decided to stay in the Courtyard because we had read reviews on other hotels in the area and they were not good! Which later locals from POS confirmed. The Courtyard is by far the best in POS. They have a shopping area next to the hotel called Movie Town, which is not much and I would not recommend going there as it did not seem safe. POS in general is not safe but if you would like to get a Taxi to see the sights I recommend going through the hotel as they have a Hertz booth on site. Also call ahead to have the hotel send a Taxi to the airport to pick you up as it is not a good idea to find a Taxi at the airport. All in all, great stay!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

It's easy to understand why this hotel is rated #1 in Port of Spain by TripAdvisor. My girlfriend and I recently stayed here on both ends of a Trinidad/Tobago trip and it was a great experience.

The service is unreal. They will do anything to accomodate you. I called a day in advance to ask for a cab from the airport, and they had the driver wait for two hours while I was delayed in customs! I changed rooms twice, and they practically thanked me for doing so. I got hungry after the resturant and room service closed (New Year's Eve :) and the desk clerk actually cooked us some Cup O' Noodles from their store downstairs and brought them to me! I was literally probably the biggest pain in the butt and they don't stop smiling for a second.

Aside from that, the restuarant is good, and the place is very safe.
However, it's not really walking distance from anywhere except Movie Town, and while it's a shopping center that Trinis seem to be proud of, (and believe me, there's no shortage of shopping centers in POS) it seems to close early every night. The fact is, if you end up in POS for a night, do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

OK....first went to the marriott in 2005 for the carnival. my friends had previouly been there and the kept on going on about what a great stay they had there etc.....on arrival there. i was immediately impressed by the lobby area. The rooms are very modern and clean and most of all spacious. ooooh those queen sized beds...luv em! the breakfast is very nice too, though a bit on the expensive side. The staff are great. it has a family feel and we got more like they were friends. everyone looked out for us. the hotel is situated on a american like shopping complex, whcih is ok if you like that type of thing...but i prefrer to hang with the locals and do local things. having said that i'll be going back in 2008 with the guys...so watch trini, me soon come!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

As a local wanting a 'getaway' with little time available i checked in for a weekend.
I've stayed at other hotels on the island that were nice but this was pretty amazing. Its a business hotel so my expectations were not that high but it turned out to be fantastic! The staff is absolutely wonderful and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Having the Movie Towne complex nearby was a bonus. Walking distance to shopping, dining, bars and multiplex movie theatre definitely makes this place extremely convenient. The restaurants nearby vary in price to accomodate any budget and there is a little convenience store in the hotel lobby that is quite well stocked.
I am planning another stay soon. I really can't stop gushing to anyone how wonderful this stay was ( i am very picky ).

  • Liked — Proximity to many activites and off site dining
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This isn't just the best hotel in Port of Spain... it is one of the most comfortable and best run hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and healthy. There are laundry facilities. The room service personnel always ask, "May I enter". Faxes are displayed on the bed when I enter my room. Faxes I have asked to be sent were actually sent twice to ensure that they arrived. The beds have an assortment of pillows (including down). Plenty of electrical outlets and light. Free high-speed internet. Easy to get to. Close to great restaurants. A large in room safe. Plenty of towels. Very clean. Great omelet & waffle station in the morning. A Hertz desk. A fitness room. A spa next door. Chocolates on your second visit. A NY Times digest under the door every morning. A little shop filled with Evian, Perrier, Starbucks Frappacinos, Pepperidge Farm Cookies, flash drives, batteries, etc. Yesterday, I twisted my ankle... the staff showed up with a complementary fruit plate and a get well card signed by the staff. I've never seen that... not even at a Four Seasons.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Occasional noise from stadium events across the street.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Courtyard Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.