We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“curtis and gail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Trinidad
1 review
“curtis and gail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 14 years wedding anniversary and our stay at the marriott was fabulous, The service was excellent and we felt at home,with the warmth and hospitality of the front desk staff. Melony at the front desk offered us a slice of cake, room service, that was so sweet. we do appreciate that. Oh! the breakfast was a belly full and delicious. It was breakfast for a king and queen. thank you so much. will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    134
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
76
30
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for my wedding weekend. I was pleasently suprised! The rooms were very spacious and clean. The service was great and people very friendly. I loved my stay here and would definitly return again. The bathtub was nice and big along with the bed and size of the room, I immediatly felt relaxed and at home. Two thumbs up, I will be back for sure !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed here three times, partially because we are fans of Trinidad which, unfortunately has a dearth of tourist hotels, and partially because we are fans of Marriott's loyalty program. There are no other Marriotts in Trinidad or its lovely compatriot, Tobago. That is a shame because this is a wonderful location to experience a different and exotic culture, partially African, partially Indian and quasi English to boot. But to this hotel.

It has recently had a cheerful and colorful renovation of its lobby. The rooms could use a little of that updating. The tiles in our bathroom were cracked and appeared dirty. The room, however, was large. The furnishings were the usual Courtyard--not bad, but not great. Still, quite comfortable.

Trinidadians are, on the whole, fabulous people. Add this natural tendency to Marriott training and you get truly superior service. The cocktails at the bar were most lovingly made and terrific at $8 each. Food not so good but the service element was again first rate. Reception, housekeeping, all were wonderful.

We paid about $130 a night (with a mysterious service charge added on). This was definitely a bargain. Generally, I would recommend this hotel unless, of course , Marriott decides to build a more tourist oriented hotel since this is clearly more appropriate to business travelers.

One more plug for Trinidad. This hotel is located on a highway near a large mall, but driver/guides are easily located , probably the taxi driver who takes you to the hotel. It is quite inexpensive to find someone who will charmingly show you the Caroni swamp (one of the best nature sights ever), hiking trails in the mountains, the wonderful beach at Maracas, the Asa Wright bird sanctuary, etc. So, it is not so terrible to be away from the beach or mountains--all are easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church, Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was booked to stay at the Courtyard by my workplace for a three (3) week training stint in Trinidad. My experience was fabulous from Check In to Check Out. The young ladies at the front desk were helpful and engaging and made my stay an enormously enjoyable one. I had enquired about churches in the area and Camille called and made a contact for me. During my last week in the hotel I fell ill and again the young ladies on duty were more than helpful and sent me multiple brands of medication so that I did not have to go down to the lobby. I would definitely stay there again. The service was great, the in-house restaurant staff was also very friendly and the fact that the hotel is a short walk from a cineplex, shopping complex and restaurants didn't hurt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Dominica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here as it was our first time in Trinidad and wanted a hotel in close proximity of Port of Spain. We found this hotel to be ideally located; just about 10-15 minutes drive from Port of Spain without traffic. Furthermore, the hotel is walking distance to Movie Towne, a mall and cinema complex. This area can also be walked to during nights.

The receptionists at Marriott were very friendly and made us feel welcomed at the hotel from night one. Mention must be made of Neline/Nellina and Erchelle (My apologies if I spell the names wrongly). These two ladies always advised us on what we should do, where we should go to and gave us local advice. They always check up on us to ensure everything was okay with the room and our stay.

Also there is a Eurocar (Taxi Service) company stationed at the hotel which will take you to anywhere you want to go, once you're willing to pay the price. If you're adventurous like us, you should learn about the maxi taxis and move around like locals. It's fun and saves you a lot of money also.

In summary, the Marriott is a very clean and friendly hotel ideally suited for anyone who wants to visit Port of Spain frequently and easily. And if you're bored, there's Movie Towne located next door with the cinema and several fast foods chains, restaurants and shops.From my personal experience, I can say that you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not cheap, nor luxurious but cheerful and fit for purpose. Clean, very convenient, friendly and happy staff. Decent food from the one restaurant / come bar. I would opt for the extra cost and have the breakfast included in the room rate. Next to MovieTown where there a several food outlets. Its small but that's part of its charm.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott, Port of Spain. It was much like other Courtyard experiences - efficient, courteous and helpful within limits. The breakfast was good, services were prompt and rooms were well-appointed and cared for.

It is another matter that the staff serving breakfast would invariably forget to give the small things like butter one day and salt and pepper the other. But this didn't matter to us so much because the seating was good and we were in no hurry. The location has a limitation if you are going to stay longer than a week. For meals you do not have attractive options in Movie Town area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain

Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Courtyard Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.