We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil Panna Cotta is the star of the show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aioli

Aioli
Ellerslie Plaza- Bossiere Village, Port of Spain, Trinidad
+1 2224654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Port of Spain
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Helmed by Executive Chef Johnny Aboud, Aioli offers a Mediterranean inspired-menu for lunch, tapas and dinner in a beautiful, inviting setting. Chef Aboud trained at the Ecole Gregoire Ferrandi in Paris, the Lincoln Culinary Institute and the Florida Culinary Institute. With his team, he strives to bring out the best in carefully chosen ingredients, turning the cacophony into a wonderful symphony of flavor. We invite you to come taste the daring efforts of this young chef as he makes his mark in Trinidad & Tobago!
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Basil Panna Cotta is the star of the show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

As the title implies, the basil panna cotta is worth visiting Aioli if just for that. Creamy without being heavy, not too sweet, basil flavor very satisfying.

Otherwise, service at lunch for 8 people was slow despite not having many other persons dining. My colleagues gave the mushroom soup, mussels, and pasta good reviews however I found my medium-rare steak stiff and asparagus salty.

Would probably visit for drinks and dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the staff was excellent. I felt that the menu was a bit limited but the food was great. The manager, assistant manager and three waiters all visited our table to ensure that we were having a great time. My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and we were treated to dessert on the house. We had a great time. I can see myself returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Well done Aioli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As a business exec. I often seek restaurants to take overseas and local clients to as well as my friends and family. I visited Aiolo yesterday 16.10.13 and to be honest i found it of high quality and i will most definately be attending again in fact i have told my partner next tuesday we are heading there. The restaurant is clean, modern and very well set up, tables are at slight angles from each other to enable intimate conversations, business meetings etc. The food is very well presented and delicious. The waitress i must commend was concise, had good recommendations, was aware of her menu and options. Good wine choices and good selection of foods. The duck breast with Edame was great . Again well done to the team in Aioli and i am hopeful your standards will remain as you develop and i therefore would gladly recommend that this is one of the top 10 restaurants on the islands.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 stars!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food, ambiance and service delivered was second to none! The duck breast was delicious! The dessert was to die for! The waitress and host were exceptional. Will be back as soon as possible!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“UNEXPECTED AND UNBELIEVABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hidden away is the Aioli and a what a great place. The appetizers were fantastic. We had a grow of 16, so got to try quite a number. Saw the lamb; I had the ciapponi - all the plates had wonderful presentation and all raved the taste.

The fruit plate for dessert was excellent; would stay away from the tiramisu

Great wine list and service was over the top..

A wonderful experience and one of the best restaurants I have been at anywhere in the world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aioli also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Aioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.