We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Digicel Imax

Digicel Imax
Damien Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What an experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to see Transformers in 3D for the first time at Imax. We pre-booked our seats so we didn't have to rush to get there way ahead of time. However upon arrival, there is no real order on entering the cinema. Everyone just clusters together to get in and it feels congested. When we got in, the seating was 5 rows away from the screen which to our surprise, was extremely close to view the movie.

We thought that the layout could have been better since there is only once cinema and so much demand to get the best seating which is either VIP which is right up to the back or the row just in front of VIP seating.

We had a nice time but I believe the design layout of the seating could allow for more appropriate distance away from the huge screen.

I did like the ushers who guided us to our seats, that was indeed impressive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George's, Grenada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Big screen, good for 3D”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A nice theater with a big screen. Seats are assigned when buying tickets (you choose your seats) and you are taken to your seats by an usher which is an interesting touch. I suppose that because the cost is a bit more there are not many people here which, as you can imagine has its advantages and disadvantages (depending on what u like). The highest row seats cost more (a bit better view; leather seats). Overall I had a really good experiences when I visited this theater. I always return every time I visit trinidad.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best screen to watch 3D movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I loved that I could have chosen where I wanted to sit when purchasing my ticket. The seating is done by rows with numbers on each seat. I went to watch Transformers-Age of Extinction,the screen accompanied with the 3D experience made the viewing of the movie awesome.Further, the customer service is excellent. If you are unsure of where your seat is located an usher is always there to guide you.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad w.i.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love the preseating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love the fact that I can choose my seats online before then go purchase my tickets later. I can always get good seats for good movies on opening week and not have o line up as other cinemas. Just disappointed they did not get xmen, but Godzilla was good enough.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best way to watch a movie in Trinidad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Screens are large, great sound system. Personally i have found rows B and C the best to sit in. I use the online reservation system religiously. The negative with that is it gives the person up to 24 hours to come down and pay for the ticket, by then i have already planned my trip, so i lose out on the better seats that may become available due to no shows. The aisles are also very narrow which makes bathroom trips and arriving late difficult when shows are full.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Digicel Imax also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Digicel Imax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Digicel Imax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.