We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service bad smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brahma Bhuta Guest House

Brahma Bhuta Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brahma Bhuta Guest House to your Saves list
Brahma Bhuta Guest House
Lot 5 Waterbridge Rd Blue Range Avenue, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service bad smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

All the reviews we read turned out to be absolutely true, but incomplete. We were a bit put off by the odor of the place. Our room appeared clean, large, had its own kitchen, and separate bedroom. Unfortunately the blankets and room smelled of mold, which the owner may not be aware of. The bathroom door did not shut all the way and the hot water was not hot… Because of this we were not comfortable sleeping on the bed and were eager to leave.

Danny provided EXCELLENT service and went above and beyond. We were there on a holiday and many tours and places were closed. We thought our day was ruined, but he set us up on other tours, sight-seeing, and with rides to places. He even took us to places himself free of charge which was helpful because the guest house was in a poor location. He also gave us fresh fruit from all his trees in his backyard.

Some advice would be to have the place more presentable for guests: clean up all the littered coconut shells everywhere, clean up tile pieces and laundry. Air out that room and get new sheets and curtains – check for mold. Also, adjust your water heater.

We wouldn’t suggest people to go here because of our experience, but we hope if these things are fixed that future people will go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Brahmabhuta Guest House was absolutely perfect for a family with small children. It was spacious, comfortable and perfectly suited our 3 children (2 are <3yrs). Our host, Danny, was thoughtful, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Whatever we needed, he was eager to accomodate us whether it was leading us to the best homemade ice cream in Port of Spain or leading us to a waterfall and swimming hole. If you are looking to avoid expensive, stuffy, impersonal hotels, this is the place to experience Trinidad.

Room Tip: Make sure to see the fruit trees around the house
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I travel frequently for business throughout most of North, Central and South America. However, up to May 2009, I had not been sent to Trinidad and had no contacts or connections there, so I opted to stay in a guesthouse (instead of a regular hotel) in the hopes that the locals at the guesthouse would provide at least some minimal guidance during my first business exploratory trip to Trinidad.

I must say that my stay at Brahma Bhuta transformed my visit to Trinidad from a simple business trip into a complete cultural experience. My host Danny (Dhanraj) was great. Not only did he give me advice on which parts of town I should go to and which I should avoid, but his thorough knowledge of all things Trinidadian was extraordinary.

Danny arranged for a drivers (Darryn and Krishten) to take me around Trinidad for three days. Both of them knew all the nooks and crannies in Trinidad and I must admit that my efficiency would have been halved had it not been for the fine services of these two gentlemen.

Finally, the cost of this very integral service throughout my stay was extremely reasonable if one were to compare the same services at other hotels in other countries in the region.

In summary, I would recommend anyone that comes to Trinidad, and who hopes to experience the real Trinidad to stay in this very fine and well run guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

i stayed here for the Test match, it is a lovely out of town location and Danny bent over backwards to make sure we got the most out of our stay. organising transport or even taking you himself to wherever you need/want to go, making sure you are safe. if you want to meet the best host in the caribbean then stay with Danny and his family, once again a big thank you danny from Ben & Wendy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Brahma Bhuta was a lovely guesthouse to see Trinidad from, and just as importantly Danny is one of the best hosts i've ever stayed with. More than willing to help you he took great enjoyment un being a host

If your happy to be slightly out of town then i'd thoroughly recommend this guesthouse, and make sure danny takes you to the waterfall.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

Our first time in Trinidad and felt like we were staying with family. Clean rooms, fantasic food and the family hosting us were awesome. Secure neighborhood and house.

Although cab service was hard to find during carnival we had an awesome resource for to and from Carnival festivities right at the guest house.

You can stay at local hotels but you'll never get the real flavor of Trinidad unless you stay with Danny.

  • Liked — The host family.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brahma Bhuta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brahma Bhuta Guest House

Address: Lot 5 Waterbridge Rd Blue Range Avenue, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Brahma Bhuta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brahma Bhuta Guest House Hotel Trinidad And Tobago
Brahma Bhuta Guest House Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brahma Bhuta Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.