We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapok Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kapok Hotel to your Saves list
Kapok Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 Cotton Hill | St. Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Chaguanas, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great food, excellect customer service, helpful staff, wonderful rooms......very RELAXING

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
35
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Rooms have been partially updated with comfy beds and flat screens. Bathrooms however still look like they were imported from 1990s Days Inn (they were small and clean). Pool is small but nice and with a not so nice view. Breakfast was great. The restaurant for dinner wasn't that good. In POS, you can do much better for food.

Staff at desk were somewhat helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Compared to the other upscale hotels in Trinidad, the Kapok is more of old glory than anything else. But based on their better price (which included free internet and free continental breakfast) i decided to give them a try. While the hotel overall has a bit of a dated feel (especially the hallways leading to the rooms) I found the room quite pleasant. Everything was in working order, the room looked as if had recently been refurbished. The staff was very friendly and professional and the breakfast was basic but quite okay. All in all I would certainly stay there again on a next trip to Port of Spain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is our second stay at the Kapok ,this time we stayed in a suite on the 4th floor. Everything was just wonderful, friendly staff, clean rooms I loved the kitchen area it had everything you would need. The living room area was spacious , nice decor and furniture was very clean and comfortable, and that includes the bed. The service as usual was very friendly and helpful. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a very reasonably priced hotel at whose services one will marvel. The rooms are well appointed, spacious, modern and clean. There is a 24 hrs internet facility made available in the room. The breakfast is great. You get a variety of items served to you on a great setting. There are fresh fruits, coffee, meat slices, pastry, cheese, juices, cereal, bread, bagels, etc. One can enjoy a surplus and relishing breakfast while at Kapok hotel. The staffs are nice, knowledgeable, informative and attentive. The hotel is in a great location that is in the vicinity of many sightseeing destinations. One will never regret staying at the Kapok hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

the hotel is in excellent condition and the staff is very friendly NICE I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN LOVE IT AND IT'S ALSO VERY PEACEFUL.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I took a group of American law Students there for a four day visit to Trinidad. Everyone in the group without exception was amazed at the hotel. Our first contact with the hotel was with Colleen in reservations. She is the most accomodating and professional reservations agent I have dealt with ANYWHERE in the world. The facilities were incredibly clean and well maintained and the food service at the continental breakfast was amazing. Especially Nicole. And the breakfast was continental in name only. There were meats, fresh fruit and coffe and tea served to you on elegantly set tables with a view of the nountains and ocean.Given the incredible location and view from this hotel and the fact that the price is almost half of other hotels in the area I am amazed they ever have a room available. I had stayed at the Hyatt previously and can safely say that I will stay no where else bu the Kapok when I am in Port of Spain in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapok Hotel

Address: 16-18 Cotton Hill | St. Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kapok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Port Of Spain
Kapok Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapok Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.