We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maracas Falls

Maracas Falls
Maracas Bay National Park, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clear water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Clear waters that is what you will find when you take the little hike to this waterfall, and it is icy cold, I lost my voice a year since I couldn't stay out of the water - lol

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great beach for swimming, water is nice but a bit cold . it's loaded with lots of sun fun but limited palm trees ! Vendors have copious amounts of beach chairs and food for sale but their is little shade for such a large expanse of beach. The water is a bit cold with giant waves great for surfing. I love this beach although it is a bit out of way and you must have a car to get there! Overall I would highly recommend this beach!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and a really nice ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Going here out of Port of Spain (POS) was absolutely beautiful riding through the mountains. If you take public transportation up there and don't intend to stay overnight, be sure to leave early enough by 3:30pm or 4pm coming back to POS or you might find yourself staying all night on the beach. We didn't follow Anna's advice about what time to leave and nearly got stuck. However, some good Trini's recognized our distress and gave us a ride back to POS. It REALLY GETS DARK.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“what a hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are not in shape I wouldn't recommend. I am not in shape. I'll do a couple of "Walk for a Cure" walks throughout the year, but this is nothing to compare that to. We walked for what seemed like 2 hrs (actually 40-50 mins). It was slippery and hot and I was miserable. At the end of the hike, the waterfall was not what I was hoping. I guess it just wasn't the season. The waterfall wasn't a big gushing burst of amazingness. Nevertheless, it was my first waterfall and it was still beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice drive into the valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A pretty waterfall; in dry season it may be pretty small so don't expect water like Niagara...it's a stream falling down the rocks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maracas Falls also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Maracas Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maracas Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.