We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Kettle Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Copper Kettle Hotel
Save Saved
You added Copper Kettle Hotel to your Saves list
66-68 Edward St., Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on several occasions each for over a week. The last time being June 2010 and my stay was excellent. I found that while i was out shopping the room attendant cleaned and folded my used clothes and left them there on the bed. The main gate is closed around 6pm so you are secured in your room. I would not advice this for anyone but i left money in the room and came back each time and found it. The beds are comfortable and i slept well and the bathroom facilities are clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and the food was well prepared. In all, for a low cost hotel i would give it a 10

Room Tip: i always had a room facing the main road for some reason, i preferred the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

No - Hilton it is NOT! BUT....main entrance is closed at 6pm so bell has to be rung after due to 24 hour Security so that not just anyone can walk in.....Thumbs UP.
Rooms are a little sparse but en-suite & never run out of hot water, ice is given from 24 hour Bar downstairs if you need cold drinks in the middle of the night - each room has a TV, bed or beds, tables, bedside lights & wardrobe area with bench. The staff are extremely helpful. I've been staying there for over 12 years, numerous times each year, & couldn't ask for better accommodation in a better location for the rates. 10 out of 10 overall.

Room Tip: Some have ceiling fans & some have noisy a/c - depends what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2006

I am from St.lucia and I have been to that place on many occasions.(6 times).The place is really close to business places.The people are really nice and friendly.The service is generally good.The rooms are cleaned everyday.The food is ok.Generally I felt at home had my privacy and was comfortable.It is not a bad place.An open minded person will like that atmosphere.The rates are affordable.While my stay was good.I believe that there are a few minor things that need to be taken into consideration.Eg.Give the rooms a fresh new painting.Some beds need to be replaced.Why is the main exit closed at 6pm and you have to ring in to come in.I am not to comfortable with that.Service can be improved.Maid service can also be improved.Access to drinking water.maybe a fridge in the rooms.Anyway,while these should be taken into consideration.Generally speaking,not a bad place.

  • Liked — Very close to business places and events/activities
  • Disliked — Floors are too high
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

I turned up after my reservation. When I went up to the room, I could not believe my eyes. I could actually see through the sheets and pillowcases. The bathroom mats were filthy and looking in the bathroom made me want to throw up. The place smelt like something I've never smelt before, it was awful. My five minute stay on my way down I pass the maid who had the sheets and towels in a bag on the floor which had fallen over and were on the dirty floor and I had to step over them, these were the same sheets that were suppose to be clean for the rooms.

I would not put a pig in that place.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

IHane read sime of the reviews written on this hotel and I have to say that some of us when weleave our homes to stay in a 'hotel'always picture the Barbados Hilton, The plaza, Sandy lane And the other 5 star hotels of the world. We cannot afford these, so we choose the copper Kettles and look for 5 star accomodation.This is unfair I stayed at the copper Kettle In august, Again In september and I will Be back there again on saturday , If there is space for me

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

damp smelly an poor lighting it just bad door had poor luck it just look tacky an rund down

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Kettle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle Hotel

Address: 66-68 Edward St., Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Kettle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.