We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Ariapita Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
sanfernando trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my wife and another couple..
We had a great time.. Room was clean.
Breakfast was far better than other hotels in Trinidad...
Would go back in future...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    14
    11
    22
See reviews for
14
11
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Great service,nice,clean,conditioned rooms,huge buffet breakfast,helpgul and professional staff,nice pool etc.etc.The only thing-far from centre of Port of Spain.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Cascadia Hotel was clean the beds were clean and the towels white, the breakfast was good and we stayed during Carnival they kept breakfast going till we came back from Jouvert at 11am. The food in the restaurant was good, like everything in Trinidad it operates on trini time things can take time to arrive. They are planning to repair the pool this summer some tiles were missing. Security in the hotel was good. I was dreading going to the this hotel after the reviews. It was a basic hotel and clean that is all I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I was recently here for a conference. First of all, the pictures are not an accurate description of the property plays this up as a better hotel than it already is. The hotel is run down. The rooms smell moldy and have not been updated since the hotel was built. I had no hot water and the two double beds, werent the same size, and without a nightstand, they were kind enough to put the phone on the bed. The air conditioner didnt work and it was incredibly hot in the room. When looking into getting a swim in, I found that the pool was missing a lot of the tiles and was not taken care of at all. I can not express to anyone how bad this hotel experience was. My business partner had ants in his room and bed. After looking at his mattress, he found something had eaten through the corners. On a good note, there is a member of their team that works in the restaurant named "Viv". She was very nice and took good care of our group. However, the condition of the rooms is a reason to not stay at the hotel.
If you need a nice hotel stay, go somewhere else, there are plenty of choices to look at besides this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I am posting this from my husband who is currently there for a conference. He just checked out and thankfully got another hotel. Please see the photos

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at Cascadia with my husband recently for 1 night.
The rooms were very outdated... The hotel should spend some time renovating these rooms. Under the bathmats are very dirty.There was bad weather and the electricity was cut for most of the night, so the AC wasn't working, which wasn't the hotel's fault... Requested additional pillows about 5 times and eventually got 1 at midnight. They said the hotel was booked up, but thats not a good reason for not having pillows available. Our room only had 3 pillows which is a bit odd for 2 persons! We made the best of the situation, but the hotel didnt offer anything additional or went out of their way to make up for any of the shortcomings...

The breakfast in the morning could have been better, no pancakes which was disappointing... and the pastries and muffins were dry.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Ok so I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights ( The Worst 4 nights of my life) This hotel is so dated and ran down. The Gym and pool that was presented to me on the web site looked like a zoo had ran through it. The rooms/beds and bathrooms were so nasty. There was no hot water nor pressure to take a nice shower. The hallways smelled like fungus was lerking in the carpets. On top of that my friend which whom was had her whole wedding party staying there had big ants in the bathroom all around the toliet (so NASTY) The manager was very cocky and rude towards us. In addition he took FOREVER to even confirm our rooms for the wedding in which we made arrangements 10 months prior to.. This is a bad represenation of Trinidad & Tobago...me and my family checked out 7 days early and ran NOT walked to the Carlton Savannah (AWESOME HOTEL) I hope this helps anyone considering Cascadia Hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 67 Ariapita Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Conference Center
Cascadia Hotel Port Of Spain
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.