We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum and Art Gallery

National Museum and Art Gallery
117 Frederick St., Port of Spain, Trinidad
868-623-5941
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 21 Attractions in Port of Spain
Type: Art Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to a large collection of works by Trinidad artists and a number of exhibits on the cultural history of the island.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This small museum gives a really good feel to the history and culture of Trinadad. From the development of village an town life to the construction of roads and industry.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I visited this museum for the first time about forty years ago. As I recall then there were just a few Amerindian artifacts and very little else. My most recent visit was a little over a week ago. The museum has grown significantly. There is a section on the oil industry which was quite informative. Apart from the Art gallery one can enjoy the section on the history of sport in the country. This is a very good place to appreciate the history of the country generally. I will have to return for there is more that I will like to spend some time viewing

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An interesting introduction to Trinidad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We would recommend this museum to anyone visiting Trinidad with an interest in where they are. The museum is free and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The art exhibition that was on whilst we were there was certainly very different to anything we had seen before but, again, very interesting. The museum is air conditioned which helps keep weary European travelers cool in the heat of the day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“free and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

accidentally stopped here, If you have the time it's interesting and free. Nice brief history on local things. Located in a area where you can continue walking and find nice things to see and do for free

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take a drive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you're interested in learning the history of the islands and even seeing artwork, here is the place to go. You can't take pictures inside the museum though. The building seems to be under minor renovation, which is great because it seems to be moving up with the times. The artifacts, to me, are priceless and it is worth going. I

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to National Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum and Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.