We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a picnic..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort George

Fort George
84 Fort St., Port of Spain, Trinidad
868 639-3970
Improve this listing
Type: Battlefields, Cultural
Attraction details
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved the trip up to the fort. Very scenic, free, and a quick little trip. We felt very safe. No problems at all..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    106
    28
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

See the Gulf of Paria, Port of Spain, Chaguaramas, the Maraval and Diego Martin valleys from on location.

On a sunny day a photographer's paradise. Framing the beauty of this Calypso and Soca island would be a pleasure. An ideal place for a family or romantic picnic. Try it you will like it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was one of my first experiences in Tobago. It's breath-taking, both in aesthetic beauty and historical richness.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great panorama and piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Fairly well signposted up some pretty steep and winding roads. Has a parking area at the top with cannons and a signal tower. Great view over Port of Spain. Well worth taking a camera/binoculars. Security was not an issue, but you're pretty isolated here so perhaps best be cautious and go in a larger group.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arouca, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

i went here as a child...it was insightful to see my country's military past...seeing that we once belonged to spain, then france, and then the English!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Fort George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.