We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly hit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veni Mange

Veni Mange
67A Ariapita Avenue | Woodbrook, Port of Spain, Trinidad
(868) 624-4597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 95 restaurants in Port of Spain
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
ottawa, Ont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mostly hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first time in POS, our BnB owner recommended this and Peche Patisserie, we tried both.
Apparently NY Times also noted it, so it seemed like a go.
It's one of 'the' dining spots in the area.
Creole stew and oxtail were intensely flavoured and well portioned, however shrimp entree was disappointingly overcooked and chewy. No one should be overcooking shrimp in a restaurant of this chops.
Service was generally attentive and friendly.
The setting is funky, though to be honest, it was all white folk, mostly tourists and over 55...so I'd hardly call it a hipster crowd. (to be fair we were there bf 9).
Having eaten also at PP, that would get my brk and lunch recommendation, VM would merit a 2nd meal, but not anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    19
    20
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were in Trinidad over the Carnival weekend and anticipating potential dining issues I used tripadvisor to contact Veni Mange by email. I exchanged several emails with Rosemary Hezakiah and arranged for reservations for Friday evening. When we arrived at the restaurant at the agreed upon hour we found that it was closed. No notice no nothing. Fortunately we did have a pleasant meal at Melange which was close across the street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Taste of Trinidad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located on "the Avenue" or as locals call it, the "Hip Strip", this small restaurant has some of the best meals I've tasted anywhere.

I've visited multiple times and their quality is consistently good, service is always top notch and prices are affordable - an unusual combination from my experience in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the decor and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Veni Mange is a really nice restaurant on the Avenue in Trinidad. It's a really beautiful atmosphere that I feel captures the Trini culture. The owner is very welcoming and the food very tasty. Its a bit pricey but worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Relaxed , stylish place. Nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice setting, feel like sitting in a galery, with local art on walls. Open windows all around make it feel very relaxed. Kind staff, welcoming to our little one, too. Kids chairs there. Food decent. Service very good. Great Coconut bake.
Definetly worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veni Mange also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Veni Mange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veni Mange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.