We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge
Save
You added Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Blanchissuese Rd, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
SOUTH PASADENA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am shocked that this is ranked only #2 in places to visit in Trinidad. This is such an incredibly beautiful place. From the moment you lay eyes on the grounds until you leave, it just takes my breath away. If you are not an avid birder the beauty of nature alone should make your heart pump just a little faster. Add to that the extremely friendly, knowledgeable guides available at any time to offer assistance in almost any manner. In reading other's reviews, I can only wonder what type of people come to a place like this for a fancy room or lavish decorations. It's all about nature and at Asa Wright you experience it first hand!!!! A must see!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The first experience of the viewing verandah is definitely a wow moment with stunning birds constantly coming & going, a birdlovers & photographers delight. Friendly knowledgable rangers were always on hand with a scope to find and identify anything that moved near & far.
There are trails through the forest but some are quite rough & steep with advice to stay on the trails due to nasty bitey things that lurk in the grass & snakes. The guided walks are excellent for orientation & identifying species.
AW is a unique experience but there are some negatives such as basic ground floor bungalow rooms with just a ceiling fan, not the place for an afternoon siesta to escape the heat & humidity. Cruise ship & day visitors are a requirement for financial reasons but often appeared noisy with no concept of how to behave in order to encourage the wildlife. Food was ok but limited in variety & options. The 2 way hilly road from Arima up past the quarry to AW is dire, twisty, very rough & unmade in places with potholes requiring driving on the wrong side of the road which has to be negotiated for every excursion south.
Staff though were fantastic, friendly and extremely helpful.
Great to experience AWC but wish it had lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

"All-around" because Asa Wright can be considered as either a hotel or an attraction, and both merit high marks. We recently spent four days there as part of a package through Caligo Ventures and the cost was very reasonable, appearing to be significantly less than what some reviewers seem to have paid on a per diem basis.

As far as lodging is concerned, there weren't any issues. We stayed in one of the rooms in the original plantation house, it being spacious and clean. Although we had been told it might be noisy, we never had a problem. It put us closer to everything (the veranda, meals, front desk, etc.) and made life much easier going back and forth to the room.

Meals are in the main building and served as a buffet with family style seating. Breakfasts were excellent with eggs or omelets cooked to order. Lunch and dinner quality was slightly less, but ample and overall good. The only negative in this regard is a fixed menu, so if one doesn't like an item there isn't a substitute. They do inquire about dietary restrictions or food allergies on registration and will accommodate accordingly. Afternoon tea was fine, the tarts, meat pies, cookies, etc. all fresh and very good. Daily rum punch at 6:00 lived up to its reputation.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful, notably Deborah at the front desk and the guides, especially Molly. Kudos to all. We had no problems with cruise groups, there being only a few day-trippers two of the days, and there was no impact on lunch or on the veranda.

From the attraction standpoint, namely as a birding/nature venue, it was fantastic. One can spend hours on the veranda watching dozens of species close up at the feeders, and numerous hiking trails also offer opportunities to see many others. Guided tours are available, both on-site as well as off. Definitely a destination for serious birders.

All in all, a wonderful four days spent above the Arima Valley.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalows require climbing flights of outside stairs, so anyone with some stair-climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lovely colonial atmosphere, run very efficiently (eg dinner bell!) You will not go hungry here. The main focal point is the balcony which commands fine views of rainforest, toucans, humming birds etc & where you can help yourself to tea from 0630 onward. Ideal for serious birdwatchers, still very pleasant for anybody who enjoys the natural world but only has a mild interest in birds. Take plenty of insect repellent & use it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a magic place for the fanatic birder and (like us) just people who want to observe nature at close quarters with expert, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides to help.
The main house retains all the charm of its origins as a plantation home, with lovely verandah and airy reception rooms. The accommodation in (basic) cabins is comfortable and clean. The food is OK and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Strongly recommend the trip to see the Scarlet Ibis flying in at sundown over the Caroni swamp, and another to watch the leatherback turtles coming ashore to lay their eggs in the sands of Matura beach. Both were quite exceptional experiences.
A great couple of days completely removed from the modern world!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Asa Wright is a mecca for birders. Practically every birder I've met from Acadia to Cape May to the Galapagos has either been or wants to go. And it lives up to its reputation. There's a fabulous concentration of neo-tropical species, the on-site guides are knowledgeable and charming, and many of the field trips--especially Aripo and the Blanchisseuse Road--are great. Asa Wright is in the northern mountains, by far the most appealing part of the island. The flatland is not very prepossessing and the poverty is striking. It was also a bit unnerving to find off-site field trips occasionally shadowed by a security van from Asa Wright.
Most of the rooms seem fine, but avoid #22. It's noisy and shabby.
The breakfasts are excellent, other meals only OK.

Room Tip: Avoid #22. Rooms above the lodge may be breezier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are a birder or nature lover, this is one of those places that you will absolutely love. Guided tours were the highlight of this place. The wonderful naturalists lead tours through the grounds pointing out a variety of brilliant avian inhabitants including such as the entertaining manakins, dazzling hummingbirds, and the mysterious and rare oilbirds - the only nocturnal fruit eating birds in the world. A night time flashlight walk was also fun - searching for scorpions, tarantulas, glowworms, and other critters of the night. The observation deck is delightful with a great view of the birds at the feeders all around. The naturalists are on hand to answer questions, set up scopes to view far off birds, and point out special sightings as they occur.
We saw dozens of species of birds here, the tufted coquette hummingbird being my favorite.

Our room was comfortable, not fancy and as another reviewer described it, quite atmospheric. I found the mattresses simply perfect. They seemed over-firm, but once I settled down they were were extremely comfortable and gave a very restful night's sleep. We were away from the main building in room #6 and it was quiet and peaceful there.

The food was slightly above average, but the dining room was a beautiful open air experience with an occasional bird zipping through, and even a bat one evening.

If you are a coffee drinker, I'd have to say the coffee is horrible - but I didn't find a decent cup of coffee anywhere in Trinidad or Tobago. This may be because I drink my coffee "Tico-style" (Costa Rican) which means hot strong coffee with lots of hot milk and sugar. No place we went had fresh milk - it was either canned or boxed, or reconstituted powdered milk. Not at all appetizing to me. So I just switched to tea, which worked for me.

The tour to Caroni Swamp to view the spectacular red ibis was simply amazing. These brilliant birds are something special to see.

As another reviewer mentioned, it is NOT fun when dozens of cruise ship guests arrive and take over the observation deck. They simply are a different sort of traveler, not birders and the groups tended to be very noisy. The disinterested folks get on the internet, make phone calls, and take up all the seating. We wondered why they bothered to come - just to get off the big boat? Some took walks on the grounds and stamped out their cigarettes on the trails and left them. Very disrespectful.

I'm glad I went and I would recommend it to nature lovers, especially birders.

Room Tip: We liked the location of our room #6 - away from the central building. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge

Address: Blanchissuese Rd, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Asa Wright Nature Centre Hotel Trinidad
Asa Wright Nature Centre And Lodge Trinidad, Trinidad And Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asa Wright Nature Centre and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.