We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intresting site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple in the Sea at Waterloo

Temple in the Sea at Waterloo
Waterloo, Trinidad
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 76 things to do in Trinidad
Attraction details
Trinidad
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Intresting site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had first visited this site as a teen during a fieldtrip. It was then a one room structure and to get to it we had to walk on a stone path in the sea that was in many places covered with water.

Many years later they re-built the temple into what exist now. It is a serene place with a nice view at sunset.

A point to note is that some people going there should be mindful that it is a religious place and avoid drinking alcohol and eatting meat on the temple compound. Although it may not be your belief, respect others belief.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spiritual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This site is very uplifting....there is also a story behind this temple and i would suggest you to ask any of the locals if you're interested in some history.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Unique site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Interesting temple by the sea. Burial rite ceremonies take place here on a regular basis. A very unique sight to those new to Hindu customs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Religious site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It was my first visit of an Hindu temple so I can not compare the temple itself. But the place is nice, quiet and really seem to be on the sea.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was quite an unusual place and unlike other Hindu temples that I have visited. It was very simple and quite small but when viewed from the side (on the main land) it does look as if it is on the sea. A good place to drop into if you're passing but you won't really need a lot of time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple in the Sea at Waterloo also viewed

 
Tabaquite, Trinidad
 

Been to Temple in the Sea at Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple in the Sea at Waterloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.