We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to see the red ibis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nariva Swamp

Nariva Swamp
Trinidad
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Several different species of birds inhabit this swamp, one of the largest wetlands in the Caribbean.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“the place to see the red ibis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

every day on 16:00 different boats drive into the swamps to see birds and nature. At the end you can see many red ibis, coming back to sleep in the trees

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour with Kayman from Limeland tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic experience for the whole family. Our two boys loved kayaking. We saw two 2 different kinds of monkeys, very amazing. Would definitely recommend to do this tour when staying at Trinidad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mmmm?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We got the WhiteTailed Golden throat hummer but otherwise very quiet really - longitude, YH Caracara

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tour with Kayman from Limeland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We went for what turned out to be a 6 hour tour of the Nariva swamp and Bush Bush protected area. The hike started in Kayman's own backyard where he showed us a pair of rare owls that stood perched on treetops. After a short, informative drive, we began our hike. Along the way, Kayman pointed out birds based on their calls and sizes. We were incredibly lucky to see many types of bird, as well as, agoutis, tegus,ending with the impressive red howler monkey and critically endangered white capuchin monkey playing in their natural habitat. It was an amazing day with a friendly and knowledgable guide.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having come back to Trinidad after some time this was a really nice experience. I had gone to the swamp when I was about 9 yrs old or so but could not remember it well but this trip I will always remember. A great family outing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nariva Swamp also viewed

Maracas Bay, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nariva Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nariva Swamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.