We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour with Kayman from Limeland tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nariva Swamp

Nariva Swamp
Trinidad
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Attractions in Trinidad
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Several different species of birds inhabit this swamp, one of the largest wetlands in the Caribbean.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tour with Kayman from Limeland tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic experience for the whole family. Our two boys loved kayaking. We saw two 2 different kinds of monkeys, very amazing. Would definitely recommend to do this tour when staying at Trinidad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“mmmm?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We got the WhiteTailed Golden throat hummer but otherwise very quiet really - longitude, YH Caracara

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tour with Kayman from Limeland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We went for what turned out to be a 6 hour tour of the Nariva swamp and Bush Bush protected area. The hike started in Kayman's own backyard where he showed us a pair of rare owls that stood perched on treetops. After a short, informative drive, we began our hike. Along the way, Kayman pointed out birds based on their calls and sizes. We were incredibly lucky to see many types of bird, as well as, agoutis, tegus,ending with the impressive red howler monkey and critically endangered white capuchin monkey playing in their natural habitat. It was an amazing day with a friendly and knowledgable guide.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having come back to Trinidad after some time this was a really nice experience. I had gone to the swamp when I was about 9 yrs old or so but could not remember it well but this trip I will always remember. A great family outing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with Kayman of Limeland tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic Kayaking experience with Kayman! We stayed overnight so that we could leave as soon as the sunrise so as to catch sight of the Howler monkeys and even the Trinidad Capuchin monkeys and it was not a disappointment at all! We spotted them along with lots of exotic birds and crabs in the swamp. I highly recommend this experience to all nature lovers! His local snacks were especially tasty and a truly pleasant surprise!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nariva Swamp also viewed

Maracas, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nariva Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nariva Swamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.