We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaclusion Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carriacou Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaclusion Suites
Save
You added Seaclusion Suites to your Saves list
L'Esterre Postal Station, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

We recently stayed at Seaclussion for 10 days before Christmas - and what a wonderful time we had. Bob & Marie are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

The location is stunning and a lot of time was spent just gazing out at the views. Within walking distance you have choice of three natural wild tourist free beaches each with its own character and great snorkelling. A lot of time was spent watching pelicans diving into the sea for their lunch and crabs doing what crabs do!

I was 19 weeks pregnant at the time so cleanliness was an important issue for us and we found the acommodation to be spotless and the many meals Marie cooked for us were delicious & plenty!

Whilst there the annual Perang Festival was taking place so we prepared ourselves for a lot of caribbean loud partying - but to our amazement was not to be! You could occasionally hear some noise carried over by the wind, but surely that is part of the culture of the island. Carriacou is not a tourists island, it is one of the few which is still for the locals where tourists are
welcome to come and share their lives.

We wanted a peaceful, relaxing holiday to unwind after a very stressful year. We could not have gone to a better place or better people. We will certainly consider going back one day to introduce our baby to Bob & Marie and where he/she first went snorkelling in the wonderful warm seas.

Don't go there if you want 5 star 'I could be in any country hotel room', go their if you want 5 star ' in touch with nature & the environment living'.

  • Liked — Bob & Marie
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chilterns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

We recently stayed for the first time at Seaclusion and find that its website is misleading, It is certainly a tranquil location during the daytime, but if any of the many festivals are happening at the time of your stay there, be prepared for disturbance at night-time (for us on one occasion until 4 am).
We know that Carriacou gets livelier during fetes, festivals and carnivals, (we’ve stayed on Carriacou 13 times at the same time of year, so we are in a position to make a valid judgement) and were kept awake with the excessive noise levels from music being played as far away as 3 miles.

  • Liked — Private location close to good swimming
  • Disliked — Noise levels from music at night sometime from a good distance away
  • Tips/Secrets — Take provisions, mosquito repellant, antihistamine cream/tablets
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerne Abbas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

We stayed in May 2006 and only now (end of September 2006) have I got round to writing this. I was thinking and dreaming of Carriacou and felt compelled to read how Bob and Marie are getting on via Tripadvisor. I want to confirm everything that all the other reviewers/travelers have said. The Suites are so special and unique that I question you will come across any property like this in the Caribbean. Bob and Marie have a clever way of sharing their life with their customers. You pay a bill when you leave but you feel like you have been staying with friends. Something that not many folks mention is that Bob and Marie will take you on a day trip around Carricaou and we enjoyed it so much. Bob and Marie have the best stories ever. Just sit back; look and listen. Bob caught fish for our evening meal one nigh. It was just so fresh and gorgeous. Bob took my husband snorkling and he returned in a stunned silence. He said the underwater scenery was to die for! The garden hammocks where so cool...what a way to enjoy the best view on the island. We arrived and left by ferry and nearly cried.....you could see the suites and practically saw Bob and Marie waving at us. Not five star.....but 7 star hospitality! Please visit Bob and Marie if you want tranquility, calm and the best ever care! K & S from St John's Wood, London.

  • Liked — Eco friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take along nibbles/drinks as shops are a hot walk away. Take snorkling gear and shoes.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

I was just telling a friend about Seaclusion Suites and felt I was long overdue in adding a review here.

We highly recommend Bob & Marie's place. He's from Florida and she's from Hungary and they're both delightful, well traveled, and full of tales. Two small suites way out in the boonies on solar power and utterly peaceful!!! You can buy your own food and cook it in the unit, or arrange for meals with Marie and be knocked off your chair with 5 star cuisine! Pet dogs, turtles, lizards (humanitarians that walk the walk!)...basically much like being home but far warmer and more hospitable. Walk down the hill to the secluded beach and feel like Robinson Crusoe. It's worth every penny. After a bizarre stay in Tobago, this was truly an escape to Eden. Besides being the place to go for complete and utter peace, this is a naturalist's & star gazer's paradise.

Bob & Marie, I'm sorry it took me so long to thank you for making us feel so welcome, for the wonderful holiday dinner (all of them actually), and for the friendship. We'll never forget our stay with you.

Blaine & Kim from Nome AK

  • Liked — scenery & the owners
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — bring some food & snacks for a little independence
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown,NS, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

My wife and I spent 15 nights of our 30 night 30th Anniversary vacation with Bob & Marie at Seaclusion suites. It was truly outstanding. Spectacular scenery and beautiful beaches to yourself. Even better than the website proclaimed. Bob & Marie's friendly hospitality was the icing on the cake.

Bob and Marie will be as much a part of your visit as you want them to be or as little. We used there services heavily
and became friends. Bob played taxi driver, tour guide and raconteur extremely well and added a lot to our vacation on Carriacou. We asked Marie to prepare our evening meal almost every night. Her meals were very very good with fresh daily ingredients and lots of variety. Marie accompanied us on a number of outings providing great picnic lunches and her insights and experiences of Carriacou were a bonus.

The island tour, Turtle Beach, the Maroon Festival, Enel, the Stick Man and the Lambie Queen...awesome memories......the trip to deserted White Island was truly special, the pristine caribbean, words fail......

So if you are looking for a quiet secluded vacation with outstanding hosts in a truly specatacular location; this is it.

  • Liked — Location & hosts
  • Disliked — Heat
  • Tips/Secrets — Have Fun
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

This little hide-away-home on the mountain side of the Caribbean Sea was actually constructed by its owner, Bob, and simply yet elegantly decorated by his wife, Marie. All the amenities, should you require them, are at your disposal and Bob and Marie will attend to your needs as much as possible then promptly leave you to either soak in the sun, or the sea (which is only a 5 min. walk down to a long stetch of white sand beach) or snorkle or explore the island and all its bays or do absolutely nothing but breath in the natural beauty around you.

Marie's cooking, should you indulge, is as simple and tasteful as her flair for art, which spans from the hand-painted murals to the tiled bed post. Likewise, Bob's meticulous attention to detail has his signature mark from the cabinets to the garden, all constructed by the Robinson Crusoe of Carriacou himself.

In short, if it is the quiet, serene, home comfort by the sea you are seeking, all for a reasonable price, Seaclusion Suits is a feast for the eyes as well as the soul!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

We have recently returned from a holiday on Carriacou where we discovered the ultimate island fantasy. It’s called Seaclusion Suites and If you’re dreaming of an unspoiled Caribbean island with incredible beaches, wonderful, genuinely friendly people, peace and tranquillity, this is the only place to be.
Seaclusion has two beautiful apartments, each with its own private patio looking out over incredible down-island views. We stayed in the larger of the two apartments, both of which have complete facilities for self-catering and are sparkling clean and beautifully maintained. Bob and Marie, who made our stay all we ever wanted from a holiday, run Seaclusion. Privacy? Absolutely, but if we needed a tropical drink straight from paradise, a 4 course, 5* dinner, or a fun and fascinating tour of the island, Bob or Marie were there for us. The beach in front of Seaclusion has many shady areas to sit and dream, and the sea is clean and clear. In the 2 weeks we were there, we saw just 4 other people on the beach but more beautiful birds and wildlife than we knew existed. A hummingbird built her nest and raised two chicks in a big potted plant on our patio, steadfastly ignoring us sitting at the table not 6” away. There is Iguana in the bush, and Bob and Marie have a colony of tortoise that almost run to you if you take them a bit of pineapple from breakfast.
Would we return to Seaclusion for another holiday if we could? Absolutely, we are already booked!
(You can see for yourself just how secluded Seaclusionsuites is via the website of the same name, Google it :-).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaclusion Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaclusion Suites

Address: L'Esterre Postal Station, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaclusion Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.