We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phil is the man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogles Round House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bogles Round House to your Saves list
Bogles Round House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bogles, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“phil is the man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

this place is amazing..they have figured out the secret to a good life..both phil and roxy are wonderful people and enjoy cooking for you and provide you with a great cottage..if you do not like dogs do not go there and waste their time..they have 2 dogs named TOM and ALBERT and they are as enjoyable as the food and accomodations..they are part of the package..do not go if you do not like animals...this is their home and they welcome you.but make no mistake, remember ,they made incredible sacrifices to live and do what they want ..indulge them and will indulge you tell them john allatt from toronto canada sent you 416 910 4158 and I assure you that you will have a great shot of scotch and great conversation with phil who is funny and entirely full of [--].. all the best to all who are looking for a new and unspoiled holiday,

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

My wife & I stayed at Bogles for three days in October 2006 as part of our honeymoon, having got married in my home country of Trinidad & Tobago.The three cottages & restaurant are located in a lovely quiet area.Mind you that describes most of Carriacou! We stayed in Mango cottage, the best I reckon with a view down the garden to the sea.Our hosts Roxy & Phil, made sure you were well looked after. Lynette,Roxy's childhood friend was in charge of the restaurant the first night we dined there.The three course(actually five course including the home made sorbet & coffee/tea) meal was delicious & VERY good value for money.That night Lynette was on her own & cooked & served 11 people. How she did it without the quality of food or service suffering was a credit to her & the training she says she got from Roxy(who incidentally was away in Grenada winning the title of top Chef!).There is a nice beach at the end of the 60' garden,& an even better one a bit of a trek away,Anse La Roche.It is well worth the trip & was deserted when we went, apart from a yacht at anchor in the bay.
Mention should be made of the two resident dogs at Bogles, Tom & Albert. They make you welcome & occassionaly keep you company on the verandha without once being a nuisance.
Breakfast in the garden, with excellent home made bread was a great start to the day.
All in all, a lovely small,quiet friendly resort.Thanks for everything...

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

My wife and I wanted a small ,quiet, friendly,get away from it all place to stay on Carriacou. We secretly wanted a little hideaway with great service , no pressures, excellent food and service,the sort of place where you can do what you like when you like, eat very well and have the sort of service you normally dream of. OK so dream on I hear you saying, well ,we found it. I have to admit that part of me wants to keep quiet about the Round House but Phil & Roxanne deserve some praise. It is without question the best place to stay on the Island, if you think it sounds like the place for you then it most definately is !! We loved it,we have visited many other tropical hideaways and this is without doubt the best .

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

A real gem, the Bogles Round House is THE place to stay in Carriacou (perhaps in all of the region) if you're looking for originality, seclusion and comfort in a natural setting. My husband and I stayed in the Plum cottage, which was absolutely lovely, clean, superbly constructed, and fully stocked with conveniences. The location was great - a few steps from a secluded beach (that we had entirely to ourselves whenever we were there), a walkable distance from the main town of Hillsborough, and a walkable distance in the opposite direction to beautiful Anse La Roche beach where we did some great snorkeling and hiking. To top everything off, it turns out the hostess, Roxanne, is a spectacular chef in her own right - so the Round House is also THE restaurant to dine at on the island! Host and hostess Phil and Roxanne offered us all the personal attention we needed and went out of their way several times to make sure we were taken care of. Easy living, pleasant surprises, altogether a spectacular time.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

We had spent over a week on our honeymoon at two other highly recommended places in Grenada when we realized that we needed something "different." Perhaps more seclusion, perhaps just something more unique and beyond the status quo. Since it was low season (September-- by the way, had amazing sunny weather every day, only rained once!) we just hopped on the internet and decided to book a place in Carriacou the following night. Carriacou is a 1.5 hour, pleasant high speed ferry ride from St. George's.
That's when we found the Roundhouse. It was simply fabulous. Recently taken over by the owner's daughter Roxanne and her partner Phil, the place was simply an oasis. The Roundhouse is a piece of art in itself, handcrafted by Roxanne's talented family. We stayed in Mango cottage-- simply furnished with lots of Swiss influence (from Roxanne's mum). Impeccably clean, and full of little luxuries like Molton Brown toiletries. The cottage had a beautiful view of the Caribbean, a beautiful garden, and was steps from a gorgeous secluded beach (Sparrow Bay). You can walk to Anse la Roche beach from here, and in my opinion it is the most amazing, secluded beach in the Caribbean.
Best of all, we had Roxanne's cooking all to ourselves at night in the restaurant-- everything was amazing an on par with some of the best restaurants we ate at in Grenada. FABULOUS freshly baked bread everyday! Breakfast every morning overlooking the sea! And complete, relaxing, luxurious seclusion. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bogles Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogles Round House

Address: Bogles, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bogles Round House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bogles Round House Cottages & Restaurant, situated in the quiet village of Bogles, on Carriacou. All our cottages are self contained and just 60ft from the beach. On site (in the Round House itself) is our restaurant featuring our award winning chef Roxanne Russell, recently crowned "Grenada Chef of the year 2006/7". Come and enjoy great hospitality & food in a truly unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bogles Round House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogles Round House Cottages Hotel Carriacou Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogles Round House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.