We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriacou Grand View

Save Saved
You added Carriacou Grand View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carriacou Grand View
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Beausejour | Cherry Hill, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
south east england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment. From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt welcome and all the staff were so friendly and helpful that it was a wrench to move on to the next leg of our island hopping tour.
Our apartment was spacious and spotless, with a large sitting/kitchen area, double bedroom and huge bathroom. The view from the balcony was across the hills to the harbour, stunning in the evening when we would sit out having a glass of cool wine before dinner, just as the birdsong was giving way to the cicadas' chirping.
We ate in the hotel on 2 evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious freshly cooked fish of the islands, served with a smile in a relaxed atmosphere. The dining room was inviting, with fresh linen and sparkling crystal.
The hotel is higher than the capital (the size of a respectable English village, really, but filled with polite, friendly locals), and is probably a 15 minute walk uphill, 10 minutes downhill. However, we did not really find out, as on each of our "walks" we were collected en route by a local bus and at the price of $1EU each were taken door to door.
Shirley, the owner and principal chef, and Zeta, barkeeper, waitress and general right hand person, made our stay truly memorable. Thank you to them for all their care and warmth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Although my visit was for family reasons, Shirley and the whole team were excellent. The rooms are well equipped, the service first class. This will be our base for our next family visit to Carriacou.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great hotel, good location, friendly staff and owners.

Room Tip: some only have fans, would recomend the air conditioned rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Everything that other guests said about this hotel are true! My daughter and I stayed at Carriacou Grand View in February. It is one of the friendliest and best hotel I stayed at in the Carribean. It is located on a hill and the view from the hotel is to die for. I had a lot of exercise going up and down from the hotel to Hillsbourough town! Earl and Shirley, who own the place, are always there to help. Same thing with all the staff. Never seen such a friendly, helpful group. The place has an intimate and 'family' feel to it. My daughter and I just loved it. I encourage travelers who are going to Carriacou to check out this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I were visiting Carriacou with our two sons, 2 and 3 years old. We wanted accomodations that would be family friendly, have lots of space for the boys to play and located close to town. Grand view offered everything we were looking for. The swimming pool was an added bonus. My kids would spend 2-3 hours everyday during our stay in the pool .Also, the service provided by Ms.Shirley, Paul and Zita were great. They were genuine, very helpful and very pleasant to talk with. Every morning and night they would warm my son's bottle of milk for us without hesitation. The food were like my mom's cooking, very good, breakfast was a treat as well. We requested local breakfast one morning and that was delicious, my kids never had fried bakes before and they were crying for more, I am not kidding, the bakes were that good. Thank you Ms.Shirley, Paul and Zita for an amazing vacation, we had lots of fun and will return to your hotel !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We found John Milton’s “Paradise Lost”
We are the staff of Aquatech Canada Inc.
Carriacou Grand View Hotel is a dream spot. It is a new hotel with very reasonable rates, and the friendly staff.
The view from the balcony is truly fascinating. About 500 yards away from Carriacou we went to the uninhabited White Island and a small boat picked us up for $20. Vacationing in Grandview is a life time fantasy come true. The beauty of this island is next to none and we say that because we are a coral restoration company, we have been around.
We strongly recommend this small, cozy hotel.
Aquatech Canada Company

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Carriacou Grand View. The owner Shirley and her staff, Zita, Loriann, and Rona were very gracious and helpful. They became almost like family, and it was a sad parting. We had an clean apartment on the top floor with a large balcony. We had a fantastic view of the houses on the hills and of the sea. There is a rather steep hill up to the hotel. We would walk down to the town and take a bus or taxi back. LOL We were at the Grand View over Valentine's Day. Shirley put on a celebration with a great buffet and music. Shirley also cooked us some great meals for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, upon request. She has a flare for making the food very decorative. There is a nice swimming pool, which we made good use of. It is the only swimming pool that we know of on the island. Zita and Loriann were very pleasant and helpful and seemed to enjoy their jobs. It would have been nice to have a coffee machine and toaster in the apartment. Also some lamps for reading. There is no laundry service at the hotel, but we did arrange to have it done in the town. We would definitely stay at the Grand View again. Carriacou is a lovely island. Very friendly people. Ask Shirley to make her specialty drink, a '' JCB" cocktail :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriacou Grand View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriacou Grand View

Address: Beausejour | Cherry Hill, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriacou Grand View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Carriacou Grand View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriacou Grand View Hotel Carriacou Island
Grand View Hotel Carriacou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriacou Grand View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.