We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place offering peace and quiet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carriacou Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Paradise Beach, L'Esterre, Grenada (Formerly Paradise Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a place offering peace and quiet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We selected this small hotel based on the understanding it was a quiet place on a beautiful beach. The beach is absolutely beautiful but bring your own lawn chairs as there is no where to sit up off the sand and the sand flies are terrible. The lot beside the hotel held continuous loud parties with people coming and going all hours of the day and night....so it certainly lacked the peace and quiet.

If you are coming in for a few days and planning on doing some home cooking - best to purchase supplies on Grenada as you will have more of selection. Can pick up bottled water and fresh eggs from the small store at the top of the laneway.

There is no hot water in the rooms and it is important to remember to conserve water as the locals rely on rain water as their source of fresh water. Beds and sheets are below standard and towels are stained - so may wish to bring your own.

We would not stay at Sunset Beach again - too much noice from the locals. Suggest you pay the little extra and find a nicer place and visit Paradise Beach for the day.

Best place to eat on Paridise Beach is at the Hardrock cafe. Joan and Joe welcome you with kindness and great food. Or, you can stop in at Patti's deli (a short walk from the ferry dock) and purchase great sandwiches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Murada Orihuela, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We booked to stay here for 1 week having read all the reviews. To say we were dismayed is polite. This is not a hotel in the normal sense. All rooms have plate glass along the front which is almost open to anyone walking past. The curtains are not enough for privacy. There is absoutely no hot water at any time?? When I queried this I was asked had I asked for this amenity when booking! I´m sorry but I thought that hotels had hot water, if not all the time at least some of the time. We have travelled all round the world, stayed in all types of accommodation, but NEVER have we had had no hot / warm water. How can anyone shower off sun screens etc, wash dishes etc. Also the lighting, no lights in shower/toilet. hazzard at night!
The best thing about this place is I suppose the location-it is on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This was our second visit as we stayed here three years ago.

We did notice a few improvements since last time but again a little more TLC would work wonders. One of the (spacious) rooms now has a small kitchen corner which is useful - but the kitchen tap swivels round and there was only a very limited selection of kitchen utensils. However it was good enough for our brief stay - we only self-catered breakfasts and lunches - and a fridge is always very useful.

The first night we were kept awake by a party at one of the nearby bars, but this appeared to be an isolated occurrence. We would probably stay here again if we came back. It would be quite difficult to beat the location! And the prices are very fair too.

We would certainly recommend this hotel if you don't mind things a little on the "basic" side and a bit rough around the edges. But you can't really expect luxury for this price!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The Sunset Beach Hotel is a tough place to review.

On the one hand, once the restaurant closes(around 8:30PM) the staff leaves, and the place is completely deserted until about 7:30AM. So what happens if there is an emergency?

We stayed in room number two. It was basic and clean and spacious. However, the bed was uncomfortable, our mosquito net had holes in it and there was no hot water. in fact the knobs fell off when we turned them.

To top it all off, there was no electricity in the bathroom, so night time bathroom breaks weren't fun;

But having said all that, I still enjoyed my stay at The Sunset Beach Hotel because:

1) It was only around $60US/night
2) It's located right on one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen, and in our opinion the best location to stay on the Island.
3) The staff is great - friendly & very hard working.
4) Restaurant is very good.

So if you think you can deal with the above short comings, I would definitely give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

With my wife we have stayed in Sunset Beach Hotel - room 1 first week of February 2010. Hotel is small and basic yet our room was spacious, with fridge and comfortable bed, and constant sea breeze cools it during the night. Breakfasts were tasty and dinner of good value. Very quiet, ideal for serious relaxation with good book. We haven't have a car but local buses are frequent. The Paradise Beach is what we have dreamed about - turquoise water, gentle waves, white sand. Nearby beach bars / restaurants have good selection of drinks and food, both at lunch and dinner time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Sunset Beach Hotel, Carriacou.

Great stay once again.

Once again my wife and I have just spent four nights at Sunset Beach Hotel which improves each visit. This time our room (no1) had a small cooker and large fridge/freezer, the double bed was very comfortable and the shower was really powerful which we enjoyed. Our friends stayed in room 5 which had the luxury of air conditioning (rarely found on Carriacou)
Sunset beach hotel although a small fairly basic hotel is set on the aptly named Paradise beach which has to be one of the best locations in Caribbean. The management and staff we found to be friendly and helpful and a good night’s sleep is assured being free from barking dogs. We would highly recommend Sunset beach hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I’ve been to Carriacou on many occasions so after returning to the island after several years absence I was expecting the same warmth and charm from this wonderful part of the world.

We stayed on paradise beach at the Paradise Inn hotel. The hotel comprises of six cottages which consist of a bedroom and on suit bathroom but no hot water, there’s no air-conditioning or fridge to store any foods or drinks. All the rooms are entered via glass patio doors that can be locked.

The location is fantastic with Carriacou’s best beach near a hand. The hotel staff were friendly, our only complaint was at night time when the staff abandoned the hotel and left it completely unattended. There were no gates or security to stop people from walking through the hotel complex which was the case constantly during the day, and on the night before we left we were rudely awoken by someone trying to force open our patio door, then again much later at 2am in the morning. Thankfully my shouts seemed to frighten them away but the experience was extremely unpleasant. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for this reason.

  • Liked — Excellent location for quick access to Paradise beach.
  • Disliked — No security at night time, no phone in room for emergencies.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Address: Paradise Beach, L'Esterre, Grenada (Formerly Paradise Inn)
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carriacou Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable hotel rooms direct on paradise beach with view of Sandy Island and Mabouya Island. Ideal for divers and families. Relaxed informal atmosphere. Here you will find a second home. We will cater for all your wishes like dive trips, fishing adventures or grill your lobster on the beach. On Carriacou you will find your unspoilt Caribbean dream island. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Hotel to your Saves list