We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Island

Sandy Island
Grenada
Improve this listing
Activities: Snorkeling, Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small beach island known for its snorkeling.
Celerina, Graubunden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Take a water taxi off paradise beach, bring your own drinks and enjoy this peaceful deserted little island. Don't forget your snorkelling gear!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice short trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pretty island / sand bank. Apparently nice snorkelling if you pick your spot. Really hard to get any shade if that is important to you. Taking lunch over seems popular

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice island off the northern coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You get to the island by boat, we took a snorkeling tour around the island and stopped here for lunch. Beautiful location where the caribbean and atlantic ocean meet. Would recommend it to anyone.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful desseted island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

White sand, touquise blue water perfect snorkelling. I had a wonderful time here with my children snorkelling and swimming. There are no toilet facilities on the island and no shade.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We took a boat trip from Sauteurs arranged by our host. Cost 200 ECD (£50) it was worth every penny. Stayed for four hours. The guys from the boat gave us fresh cooked fish that they caught and coconuts/milk. Swam in the crystal clear water, sunbathed. We did find some shade!!
This is a must........
Take nothing but photos, leave nothing but footprints............

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Island also viewed

South Coast, Saint George Parish
Grand Etang National Park, Saint Andrew Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Hillsborough, Carriacou Island
 

Been to Sandy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.