We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great service, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The DeckHouse Bar & Grill

The DeckHouse Bar & Grill
Happy Valley | Hamilton, Bequia (Formerly The DeckHouse)
+1 784-570-6590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Bequia
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Modern Caribbean cuisine in a casual waterside setting in Bequia's beautiful Port Elizabeth harbour..
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful view, great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My family had an excellent experience at The Deck House in late December 2013. After visiting Hamilton Battery, we walked down the hill to the restaurant where we sat by the water and were served by friendly, courteous staff. The kids played games and there was a nice mix of both sun and shade for seating. The food was excellent! I had a wonderful soup and the majority of our party had burgers which they declared were the best they had ever eaten anywhere! Food is fresh and flavourful, so our dessert was still warm from the oven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Hills, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exciting new place on Admirality Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Located on the north end of the Bay in an area of Port Elizabeth called Hamilton and below the road to Hamilton Battery on the water. It would be best to travel to the restaurant via water taxi from one of the dinghy docks on the Belmont Walkway. Give a shout to Fitzy who operates Phat Shag water taxi he is the best. As others have stated the portions are not big but very good and reasonably priced. So there are picnic tables right, but it is on a deck right on the water - get over it, this is layed back Bequia. We found it a great change of pace and refreshing. We heard a lot of good thinks and it did not disappoint.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“charming waterfront restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Four of us went to the Deck House for lunch and it was perfect, We were staying on the island so we arrived and left by water taxi, which made the experience so much fun. For us, lunch was just the right amount, as we don't crave huge meals at lunchtime. The menu is imaginative and we were served really tasty, beautifully presented, plates of food. The lobster cake with noodle salad was absolutely wonderful, and my friend raved about the burger, which was so much more special than any normal burger. Service was top notch so we think the previous bad experiences mentioned by other reviews were just teething problems when the season started. We would highly recommend for lunch.

We also looked at the accommodation, which is very new and modern, lovely rooms with good views if you choose the two at the front, There's no pool but you can go down the steps on the deck into the sea if you're a decent swimmer. There is also some nice garden furniture, squashy seats, so you can lounge around in comfort if you choose to read a book in the garden.

We think The Deck House is a great addition to Bequia.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, with great style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went for Sunday Brunch - which we'd recommend as something different. The location is superb, and enhanced by arriving by water taxi. Very welcoming staff - albeit a touch gauche at the moment. The food is excellent, and the choices are definitely different. Some have complained about the 'picnic tables', but I find them a genuine reflection of Caribbean style, but updated with very stylish table ware. Some also complain about a limited menu - but how many dishes can one eat !! Rather a superbly prepared short list than a long list of items from the freezer. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No doubt best on Bequia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at The Deck House (which has 4 rooms) and had several meals in the restaurant. It is absolutely our favorite in Bequia. Really amazing to sit on the deck on the water with the views of the harbor. We read some complains about the picknick-style tables but they are really nice and the setting is contemporary, cosy, romantic. The owners Adrian and Suzie are always around making sure the vibe is right and the service is very kind. Not the fastest or most professional, but kind and personal which is the most important to us. The food is astonishing! The lobster cake we had was just way too good! The menu is rather small but WOW, food is really amazing. We would really recommend The Deck House along with The Fig Tree and Sugar Reef - that is our top-3 list on Bequia!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The DeckHouse Bar & Grill also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to The DeckHouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The DeckHouse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.