We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fish...lovely setting for a meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Reef Cafe

Sugar Reef Cafe
Crescent Beach, VC0400, Bequia (Formerly Sugar Reef Bar & Grill)
+1 784-458-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Bequia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sugar Reef Cafe serves casual Caribbean fare at our elegant beach house from noon until 9 p.M. Daily. Our all-day menu includes soups, salads, burgers, and grilled fish made from fresh, organic, local ingredients. Favorites include lobster roti, tuna tartare, and passion-fruit mousse.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish...lovely setting for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Even in the off-season, the restaurant here was busy. We came at the end of June and people were making reservations from all over the island to taste Chef John's famous food :) The grilled mahi-mahi fish was delicious, as was the tuna tartar, calalloo soup, pumpkin soup, beetroot salad, steak and the desserts! The setting for lunch and dinner is lovely, make sure to get a seat facing the sea. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic setting on the beach, delightful dishes made with fresh local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Sugar Reef Hotel on our honeymoon and ended up eating at the restaurant for more than half of our meals during our 5 day stay. Breakfast was included in our hotel stay and it was delightful with great service. We enjoyed fresh local fruit, juices, yogurt, granola, and fruit breads every day. Every morning we just sat and peacefully enjoyed our breakfast, while enjoying the cool ocean breeze and the amazing views. Since we visited during the low season, on many occasions we enjoyed the dining room to ourselves.

Lunch and dinners were equally amazing when we ate here. The food was fresh and again made with local ingredients like homemade coconut milk (used in the best beet soup we've ever had, and the bechamel on a rosemary vegetarian lasagna. We ate these dishes 3 times! As vegetarians, the options were a little limited but the chef worked with us and made a one off dish when asked.

Service was world class. The staff at Sugar Reef is friendly, easy to talk to, and they pay close attention to detail. By our second breakfast, Nateesha had learned our tea preferences and doubled up on our peppermint and English breakfast. In the evening Javal, remember what we ate the previous night and that we were vegetarian and recommended other options we might like. Can't say enough about the team here including owner Emmet and manager Judit.

Last but not least, the decor was true to Bequia and included locally crafted driftwood chandeliers and local wood tables.

Would highly recommend Sugar Reef for foodies, honeymooners looking for a romantic setting on the water or anyone who enjoys great tasting, fresh local food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food in beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here & ate several meals at the restaurant. Chef John is very talented & the staff all very friendly. The food is fresh, locally sourced, beautifully presented & delicious. The callalloo soup, banana caramel, lime pie & fish roti were our favourites. The setting is perfect with stunning decor, on the beach & with a lovely breeze.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Venue, Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is such a pretty, tree-lined bay, with beautiful sand and great for a pre-lunch swim. The restaurant itself is airy, light and distinctively decorated, with lovely views over the sea. The three of us all greatly enjoyed the lunch, ordering a variety of salads, fresh fish & pasta, all of which were well presented and tasty. Well worth a visit - a short and inexpensive taxi ride will get you here from the main town in no time at all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Mahi Mahi in the Windwards with a Twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

WindNWaters is going upscale, and has a budget to treat for a birthday!!!!. The Sugar Reef in Bequia is located on the windward side of the island, away from any hustle and bustle of the main port of Admiralty Bay. Well worth the 10 minute drive from anywhere on the island. We had the catch of the day, Mahi Mahi on a bed of creme de sweet potato a la caraibes! with green beans. Covered with grated fresh coconut, and cooked in coconut milk. Positively delicious, and we will go back for seconds. Starters included pumpkin soup, and tuna [yellow fin] tartare done to perfection, extremely fresh. With wine, and two courses, and impeccable service, at 110$ with tax included CAD well worth it for someone's special birthday celebration.

The setting facing the Atlantic ocean, was superb, with a constant breeze, and a beautifully decorated dining area. You must check out the website for this. http://www.sugarreefbequia.com

Room Tip: We only ate dinner here, so n/a for rooms.Limited red wine selection, however, the choice was not te...
See more room tips
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Reef Cafe also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Sugar Reef Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Reef Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.