We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here in Bequia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fig Tree

The Fig Tree
Belmont Walkway, Bequia
784 457 3008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 restaurants in Bequia
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat here in Bequia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very tasty, relatively inexpensive, sweet service, and fabulous Paradise Punch!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    58
    27
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm embrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a place where you are welcomed with warm open arms. Miss ‘J’ is unique with her charm, her world travel and her genuineness.
We were here to celebrate a birthday and the atmosphere and food were delightful.
For starters, the callaloo soup and the samosa’s where marvellous.
We enjoyed excellent curried beef and mutton with savoury flavours and tender meat.
The catch of the day was 'King fish'. Expectations were high and although the sauce and accompaniments were great... the fish was overcooked.
This is an unfortunate habit in the Caribbean. Too often they let the fish go dry when cooking it.
This did not dampen our enthusiasm as Miss ‘J’ brought out the birthday cake which concluded the evening on a high note.
We'll come back... for the curried meats.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely new local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Fig Tree is a new addition to Bequia. It is directly on the beach with wonderful ,kitchy furniture,chairs,couches and tables. The service is some of the best in the Caribbean and the food local,fresh and tasty.The fish could not be more fresh and local sides done really well.
The owner, Cheryl is a local woman who also runs a reading group for the children and cares deeply for her island.
We dined here twice in less than a month and will return before we leave again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh , Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fig Tree Tastic food on the Belmont Walkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Loved the location near the end of the Belmont walkway.
Had the place to ourselves, the service & food were fab.
I would recommend eating in the Fig Tree in the future

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayreau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miss J made this an enchanting evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Six friends came to The Fig Tree for a birthday dinner. It was amazing. I had good red wine, delicious callalou soup, fresh mahi mahi and several flavorful vegetable and side dishes. Best of all was the warmth and wisdom of our host, Miss J. It was a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fig Tree also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to The Fig Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fig Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.