We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Dreadful Meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia

Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia
Spring, Bequia
+1 784-458-3414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Bequia
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner, this romantic and relaxing restaurant features fresh dishes made with ingredients collected daily from the Plantation. Beautiful views across the palm groves with cooling Caribbean breezes.Special creole, BBQ and Jerk nights during the season.Reasonable prices, attentive service and excellent cocktails at the bar. Also a perfect location for large groups or wedding venues.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Dreadful Meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from an overpriced lunch with dreadful food and poor service in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable on the island of Bequia. We stopped in this morning to make a 12:00 reservation and were greeted by a delightful young waiter. Since we are staying in a villa, and they grow their own fruits and vegetables on the plantation, I asked if they might be willing to sell me some produce to enjoy while we are here. He was incredibly generous and accommodating, even offering to give us a sampling of the fruits and vegetables they have available and in season. I left with a very good feeling about the place.

We arrived shortly before noon and sat at the bar of a beautiful open-air stone plantation house looking over the grounds with the ocean in the distance. We ordered one drink each, a rum punch and a guava margarita, both of which tasted of nothing but sugar. The bartender/waiter was unfriendly, bordering on rude. He recommended the special of the day which was Creole fish or chicken. I ordered fish, my husband ordered chicken. We only ordered one course and waited 50 minutes for our meal to arrive. The kitchen was overworked and understaffed. I got the chicken, my husband got the fish and it was difficult to differentiate between the two. Both were overcooked, dry and flavourless. The vegetables -- banana salad, breadfruit, plantain, sweet potato and spinach cakes were too many, too ambitious and, like the protein, without flavour.

The bill for one drink and one main course each was $71 US before tip. Outrageously overpriced. Disappointing since the setting is probably one of the nicest on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Caribbean Dream Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a romantic authentic Caribbean dinner in a dream setting. The restaurant is open-air in a stone building from the original plantation. I couldn't imagine a more picturesque setting for a night out on the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We did not stay here but stopped in for lunch one day. The bartender was wonderful and, even though we were not guests of the hotel, made us feel very welcome. I had a horrible sunburn and the bartender went and chopped me some fresh Aloe and literally saved our vacation! It was such a thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. Sometimes all it takes is a good bartender to bring you back again and again. The lunch was delicious, we had the fish roti. The property is magnificant and in a wonderful location. We have been coming to Bequia 25 years and we will definately come back to Firefly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it for the atmosphere and quality of the staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husbands grandparents built this hotel and restaurant on the site of the former plantation house of Spring Estate in the 1960's. It has changed hands a few time since then, and is now run Liz and the Firefly group. The food is delicious and most of the vegetables and fruits are grown on Spring itself. The staff is professional, personable, and extremely courteous. They make magnificent drinks, too! Open-air dining is lovely, whether during the heat of the day or a cool evening. The atmosphere is relaxed and guests can enjoy the cats and dogs that belong to the place. Try Firefly, you won't regret it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is gorgeous. The views are outstanding and the service was friendly. The drinks were expensive (even by island standards) but it was worth the stop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Plantation Restaurant Bequia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.