We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachcombers Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcombers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcombers Hotel
Save
You added Beachcombers Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Villa Beach, Kingstown, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kingstown
St Vincent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beachcombers Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been here dozens of times and would say that it's one of the best values places to stay.

It's in a lovely beach-front location and has a small pool, sun deck, restaurant and bar and is owned and run by an established Vincentian family. The food is reasonably good and the service is fair to good. Prices are very good, but it's the setting, ambience and value which, to my mind, are its overall stronger points.

The Deluxe and Super Deluxe rooms are very nice, the Standard Rooms are OK. All have air conditioning and cable TV.

It's a convenient place from which to base yourself - local buses stop right at the entrance and there are other restaurants within walking distance.

It's also a great place for a family with children

Room Tip: Asl for an ocean-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
37
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Decent small hotel. Rooms are not spectacular, could actually be better. They are small and basic, but comfortable enough. Includes free wifi in rooms, restaurant and pool deck.
Very nice landscaping. Decent restaurant & bar, with friendly staff. Pool is very small, but nice relaxing deck. The beach isn't as nice as others on the island, but is still good enough for an evening swim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I dropped the ball by not writing a timely positive review of Beachcombers Hotel when my wife and stayed there this past June. It is such a quaint, beautiful little hotel with its own Vincentian personality. The restaurant serves Caribbean and asurprisingly good intercontinental menu throughout the day. Dinner was particularly remarkable, with peaceful ambience, a gentle breeze flowing through the place, and the swish of sailboats rocking out on the water.

We were impressed by the quality, comfort, and colonial plantation-style feel of the standard rooms, especially considering the affordable rates. The A/C was a nice bonus too. My wife immediately noticed the spa menu in the room, and was able to make a last minute appointment for a massage. This also she acclaims was the highlight of her stay.

This isn't a negative comment, but the offices close up in the late evening, so you have to ask a security guard for any assistance you may need. The office, however, took care of all of our needs before they closed up.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has a lovely warm pool with a view over the beach (with steps going down) so you have a choice of swimming in the pool or the sea. We found in the afternoon the beach was covered in locals having great fun. The restaurant overlooks both pool the bay and across to Young Island and is a nice place to sit and eat. The rooms are all different so be careful what you choose. There are four different coloured blocks of rooms, all very pretty Caribbean style, three of which overlook the garden and small car park. ( this does not detract from the view) Standard rooms are all on one floor and are set back a bit which does make them a little dark as are most rooms on the ground floor of all blocks but this could be seen as good to get out of the sun!.The yellow building faces the sea looking over the rest of the hotel and backs onto a busy road which can be noisy. We were on the first floor in the centre of this building room 27, a super deluxe, which was large with a tiny awkward shower room and a kitchen we never used. This floor has three apartments in total and you do have to climb up three lots of steps but it does have a nice view of the sea and over to the edge of Bequia and other small islands. Beware when it says 'private' terrace when in fact all that separates the three rooms is a small open partition, you do have to walk past each room to get to your own. To the right of the yellow building is the orange one. This one looks across to palm trees and has a partial sea view from the terrace over the hotel. The best building I think is a fourth white building with green balconies as it faces the beach and is closest to the pool, beach, restaurant and the suites upstairs have the best views but whether they get noise from the bar or breakfast early in the morning I don't know. On the ground floor there are some Deluxe rooms which have a view over the garden and the one I was shown was in better condition than the 'super deluxe' we ended up with!
All in all we would stay at this hotel again but I would choose a different room. Every member of staff here that we dealt with were friendly and efficient. It was a joy to be here.

Room Tip: It is difficult to chose a room best for you but take note of what I said above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here in the presidential suite, the rooms are colonial style and very spacious and give a beautiful view of Young Island so nothing to complain! Very clean and service was good although liquid soap was not provided everyday even though we ran out of it. We found the restaurant menu a bit boring and over priced for the quality you get but restaurant service is very good. The beach in front of the hotel is sometimes packed with locals and not very clean, but if you go to Indian bay closeby or young island they are both lovely. Overall I recommened it

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed an idyllic 6 days at the Beachcombers Hotel
Beautiful, comfortable and pratical room set in a lovely garden
Nice to have direct access to the beach that was small but very welcoming, with clear, warm, blue sea, good for snorkeling
The terrace overlooking the beach was the perfect place to end the day with a cocktail during sunset and then dinner there or in one of the nearby restaurants
Also nice to be near the main road where you can catch the local "buses" and go into Kingstown or up the coast
And last but not least very friendly and helpful staff and a nice "family run" atmosphere
We would certainly go back if we return to St Vincent

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms for different budgets. We enjoyed ours with the large balcony, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am at Beachcomber hotel right now enjoying the evening breeze and listening to the ocean and enjoying free Wifi on my balcony. We are here for a family visit and are in one if the renovated rooms. There are 2 double 4 poster beds in our room and quaint furnishing. The bathroom is huge with good water pressure and hot water. There is a fridge and hot plate and plates, sink and the basics. The AC is really powerful and is remote controlled.

My absolute favorite part is the balcony ( we are in a super deluxe room with a private balcony on the 2nd floor) and a soothing beautiful view of the gardens and ocean.

The restaurant is outdoor (covered mostly) and is very elegant and tropical. There is lots of seating and the staff is super sweet and helpful. The menu is pretty good - be prepared for St. Vincent prices which are high. This doesn't seem to be limited to hotels though. Prices for food are generally high here. I went into a IGA grocery store today and a half gallon of Tropicana orange juice was about $10. I got a medium piña Colada for $15 at the bar. A bit much for me though it was very tasty. local beer is only $2 though at the bar or the store. The food though is VERY good for all the things we have tried. The seafood chowder was huge highlight for us.

The beach is ok - very pretty views of nearby Young Island and with brown sand and gentle waves. Yesterday was a public holiday so it was very very crowded with locals, which is fine but it didn't make for a relaxing beach day. Today the beach was back to being quiet. Our family did a little snorkeling close to shore and saw lots of fish and some urchins. There were others snorkeling further from shore.

The owners have checked in with us to make sure we are having a good time and I have appreciated that. So far we have really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 36 is renovated and has a beautiful private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcombers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Hotel

Address: Villa Beach, Kingstown, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent > Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcombers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned and operated Boutique Hotel guarantees you a "home away from home" experience. The beautiful tropical gardens and ocean front location provide views and experiences that will stay in your memories for years to come. Whether you are looking for the basics or the finer things in life you can rest assured that our professional and courteous staff will strive to provide you with the highest level of service possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Hotel Kingstown
Beachcombers Hotel St. Vincent/Kingstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcombers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.