We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, local hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bessemer Hotel

Bessemer Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bessemer Hotel to your Saves list
Bessemer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermon Close, Dowlais CF48 3DP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, local hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here on business. Location was great for Cardiff and surrounding area. Rooms could possibly have been a bit better. Really clean but a little bit dated. Also squeaky floorboards which meant I could hear my colleague in the next room crashing about like a baby rhino! Having said that, I had a really good sleep and fab breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
25
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but everyone was friendly and helpful. We were visiting family and didn't actually get to book in until midnight but were greeted with a smile and our key card was all ready for us. Had a bit of difficulty with the key but it worked eventually. Breakfast was lovely and our order was taken and delivered promptly. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here before riding Bike Park Wales. The room was lovely, very good value for money. Bikes were stored securely for us. The breakfast was great. The carvery in the evening was even better. We WILL definitely be staying here again when we return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The carvery in the Bessemer is one of the best around. Food is well cooked plenty to choose from and good value for money. Gareth is always pleasant and polite when carving your meat. Would recommend a visit for Sunday lunch or a meal during the week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just back from the 14:30hrs booking with the Family for Mam & dad's Golden Wedding anniversary..
As Always, Fantastic Food with Great service...
Can't Recommend this place Highly Enough!
Been there quite a few times and will continue going to The Bessemer too...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my partner stayed for 5 days while away on business 2weeks ago. The staff cudnt have been anymore helpful ensuring that all our needs were met ( at the time I was 3 weeks post major knee surgery and on crutches ). The food was all home cooked food and the carvery is out of this world, at breakfast we were able to select the items we would like and each morning it was excellent. The room was pleasant and cleaned everyday. We will definitely be stopping again if in the area. Thank you once again to all the staff for your help and consideration.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Nothing special, but not bad either: clean cosy room and hot water is enough. Breakfast was a bit of disappointment with limited choice. Although the freshly cooked eggs/beans etc made up for i suppose. Some fruit, croissants, pancakes might be nice (ie. continental).
The dinner was as bland as can be, and overpriced (no herbs/spices on the chicken!?)
As I went for touring around Brecon Beacons, it's a fantastic location between all the main tourist sites. If I was to go South Wales again, I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bessemer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessemer Hotel

Address: Hermon Close, Dowlais CF48 3DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Dowlais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dowlais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bessemer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 20 bedroom family run hotel on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bessemer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bessemer Hotel Dowlais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bessemer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.