We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, helpful, cute hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mariners Hotel to your Saves list
Mariners Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly, helpful, cute hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here pre-sailing excursion around the Grenadines and were very impressed with the friendly courteous staff, the gorgeous views, the nice restaurant and the general feeling of the hotel. Our flight was delayed coming in and we missed our first night - they were very accommodating in our situation and made a long travel end on a very nice note. It's not a large hotel but has cute grounds, nice rooms, wonderful staff and good food. There is a small beach that we swam and snorkeled from, a small pool which our daughter loved, comfortable rooms with good shower and nice view of the beach and Young Island across the way. Food is very good (though dinner is pretty expensive). They are very accomodating if you take a sail excursion for the boat to drop you off and pick you up there. Can't say enough good about the friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again if back in St Vincent again.

Room Tip: Veranda with beach view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
36
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maxwell, Barbados
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wonderful setting, ocean front dining, and the food was superb. I had Tuna Tartare to start, followed by Poached Salmon in a Zucchini Sauce with Baked Aubergine, Roasted Pumpkin and Steamed Rice. To finish, Exotic Fruits flavoured with Rum, with a Vanilla Ice Cream. Washed down with 2 glasses of Pinot Grigio. Lovely, would definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mariners Hotel and had dinner at The French Verandah. When you enter there is a bar area which also serves as the control centre for the hotel. It is never locked but there are always security and staff there even in the early hours of the morning. The bar has just about every beverage and then some. The main dining area is open and you can walk on the beach. Just be careful, the waiters don't like you taking sand into the restaurant. It's easy, just walk around the building and there is a swimming pool and foot rinsing. Then you just come back in through the front entrance. The view is nice and you can sit here all evening, watch the sun go down etc.

I couldn't decide whether to have the conch fritters or the lobster so I had both. I hope my rheumatologist does not read this or I will be in big trouble! By the way, the banana split is humungous; if you are watching your figure, you might consider splitting your plate in half or thirds.

Even if you are staying at the Mariner Inn at the Mooring/ Sunsail/ Footloose base, I would recommend dining here.

This review relates specifically to The French Verandah. I will the review Mariners Hotel separately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food is great, we went two times while we stayed on st vincent, there aren't many restaurants to choose from on the island but rest assured this is one of the best. The creme brulee is a must!!!! One of the best I ever tasted, pork ribs were excellent too!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What can I say....hmmm?!! This place was great! The staff are amazing and polite, which can be difficult at times when traveling in the Caribbean. From the reception staff (Crystal is great and very professional) to the ladies and gentlemen who work on the property and/or at the restaurant The French Verandah. French Verandah staff: Patrianne (love her), she's warm and welcoming, Ron (very fun), Harry (bartender and super pleasant) and Shawn (who owns the restaurant is absolutely knowledgeable and a great guy). I stayed for 6 days and wished I could've stayed longer. Not far from town and the bus (which are decorative vans) are easy to find and use to get around. I'll be returning in April, and without question, staying at Mariners!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400's are off to the side....and offer a little privacy as far as location, but the...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was excellent for our stay the night after we disembarked from our week on a catamaran. The restaurant is well-versed in French cuisine, and the sunset is gorgeous! I can't comment on all amenities since we stayed only one night. Pool looked clean and few people were in it which is nice. We used the i-net for a bit to check in at home; computer room had several terminals, AC was nice and cool, clean, etc. Rooms were decent, nothing fancy, but not shabby or old. They were cool, clean, and quiet. It was a bit of a drive into town, but town is pretty noisy so it is more peaceful to be farther off. We would happily stay again on another sailing trip!

*Beware of the local taxi-minivans filled with people headed to town. They are dirt cheap but the drivers are terrifying with crazy speeds and turns like a rollercoaster. I am proud to say I tried it and survived, but they really ought to sell T-shirts to this effect so you have some motivation to step onboard again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We did not stay at the Mariners hotel,but walked down to the restaurant for dinner. Despite being peak season we easily got a table. The restaurant overlooks the beach, but as it was dark, you could not see the sea, but you do get a great view of Young island.

We had a reasonably good meal. I ordered from the main menu and my other half wanted a pizza. The waitress said they were big, but to be honest it was a pretty small pizza. Not a great choice, but my fish was very nice.
Unless you are in Italy or have a real wood fired pizza oven, it's not a great idea to order pizza!!
Service was good and food was fine . I'm not raving about this restaurant, but everything was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Vincent
1.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 16 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kingstown
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#1 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cobblestone Inn
The Cobblestone Inn
#5 of 9 in Kingstown
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Villa Bay Beach, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.